"Children should be seen and not heard" - Parents

in #steemiteducation6 years ago

'source'

I don't know about you but as a Afrikaner I grew up in the time where "children should be seen and not heard". Times has changed and so much has happend. The technology got better , my 5 year old daughter know how to work my iphone. But so did we grew up and our whole style of raising up children has changed. 

Me and some friends had a tallk the other day about this subject, that as a child you couldn't speak freely especially when you had your opinion about a certain  subject. I know  as a child I loved my parents and grand parents and when I think back I couldn't remember even once where I stated my opinion about something becaus I had this thing " children should be seen and not heard". 

Did you ever think what the impact of this would have on you or your child when they grow up. I know that in todays days its different. How many people between the age of 30 and 50 do you know that would rather go with what a group says about something than to stand up and tell them what they think? I know to many of such people. It's not wrong to do this and I know our parents did the best they know how to, but here is the problem. 

My husband grew up in a houshold with the background of Dutchman. They are very open and speak freely and you always know were you stand. Their family had this open discussion about everything. Were I grew up in a Afrikaner home. My struggle for years was to speak my mind and to express my heart and feelings. I must say my husband help me with this, it's still a challenge for me but helping my kids to do it different is making it easy. As my children grows up we are teaching them that what they say and feel is important and they are aloud to talk and have their opinion. I can see the freedom they have and the courage they are building as they grow. 

It helps them to stand up against a friend that whabts to bully them. Even when they greet or see people it makes it easier. I can see the difference between them and their classmates... they are not shy and embrase who they are. 

I struggled so long with who I am, it's like this small man in my mind that keeps ecoing the words of doupt and that my words are not good enough. But know with my girls I realise every day that each and every person on this earth is important and that your words are good enough and you are good enough. I love the things my girls will say sometimes. They know their voice counts, maybe not for everyone but for us. 

'source'

This is the one gift we can teach them in this tough world. To embrace every moment. Life is a journey enjoy it with them and all they have to tell you....you will treasure every moment. God gave them the most unique voice that no one else has.

'source'

Thank you for reading my blog.



Sort:  


If you would like to support the educational community by delegating to @steemiteducation, please click on any of the following links. This will ensure that more teachers are supported on a daily basis.
100SP 200SP 300SP 400SP 500SP 750SP 1000SP 2000SP 3000SP 4000SP 5000SP 10,000SP 25,000SP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58871.01
ETH 2682.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50