Homework: The Montessori Way - Dr. Maria Montessori

The Montessori Exposure


As a child, I have always been enrolled in traditional schools with traditional classroom setting. The world of the Montessori education was not known to me then, as friends and even family members around me, have been accustomed to the traditional classroom education. The word, Montessori, is that which is only taught in class, something I did not care about as a student. Something that I could say I have taken for granted as it really did not concern me then.
All of that changed though. After having lived in the urban life in the melting pot of Cebu, I have learned many new things. Engaging with the fast paced new city environment, it has allowed me to learn many things I have not experienced or learned in depth before. One of these new discoveries which I have been wanting to have my children experience was that of the Montessori way of education.

A discovery which has come to bear fruit. An education where my child is currently enrolled in, Children's Paradise Montessori School in Cebu, Philippines.

Dr. Maria Montessori


What is the Montessori Education now, was created by Dr. Maria Montessori. She was an Italian physician as well as an educator. Her educational journey took her research to Rome, after she graduated. This is where she continued her research at the University's Psychiatric clinic as a volunteer. As part of her work, she frequented visits to some of Rome's asylums where she observed children suffering from mental illnesses.

As a psychiatric pediatrician, she dedicated her life into helping these mentally challenged children, which, in turn, allowed her to create the Casa dei Bambini which means children's house. What started as an effective means to help mentally challenged children, was soon adopted to cater to the regular thinking children alike. The spread of her educational philosophy has now reached all corners of the world and has produced many prominent names in the likes of Prince William and Prince Harry as well as Anne Frank, an author and diarist from World War I.

The Montessori Method


The Montessori way of education is through the development of the child's own abilities and initiative through the means of practical play. It is the introduction of many different materials where the child could work on to enhance both their fine motor skills as well as their cognitive skills.

In a normal class setting where we are normally asked to sit and listen to lectures, the Montessori way allows the child to get involved and learn it on their own with their own hands using their different senses. It allows them to learn at their own pace through the involvement of manipulation, repetition, abstraction, exploration, and many more.

My Experience


Though I was never enrolled and taught in the Montessori way, it is never too late for me to learn and experience it, now more than ever, as a parent. My son has been and still is enrolled in a Montessori School near our place for almost 2 years now, starting at about 1.5 years of age. And since then, our views of our child's education became easier allowing him to learn practically with whatever materials we may also have at home.

With that span of time, we were able to witness his learning advancements with high regards for communication, manipulation of objects and his eager curiosity. It allows us to have confidence in him to go out and explore and feel, with his own hands, the environment around him.

One perfect example of a behavior I saw and encourage, is his ability to help out at home. Now at 3 years, he is confident in setting up the table, looking after a mess, packing away his toys, and looking after himself on certain occasions.

Finish Line


I really enjoy being a parent to a Montessori educated child. It brings me joy to see him progress and learn the basics on his own accord and excel further with guidance. His curiosity never ceases to amaze me, and his innocent ideas and statement continues to put a smile on my face. This opportunity is definitely not something I would regret, but would wish that it will be offered in the higher years.

Sadly, here, the Montessori teaching only lasts until the 6th grade, a transfer and further adjustment must be made to integrate into the traditional school someday. But the foundation received through the Montessori methods can never be replaced.

That is a wrap! Please FOLLOW me, as I am planning to do more good to know stuff.
Support me by hitting that UPVOTE button and RESTEEM this post as well!


@newkidintown


Source: 1 2 3 4 5
All of the photos (except the last one) are not mine and belong to their respective owners as specified in the sources provided.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64320.49
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54