Coping up with Stress: The Matcha Crepe Cake

IMG_20180130_185224.jpg

Hello guys! I'm Green, Nice to meet you!


Sometimes, having a rough day has its perks. It enables you to do things you are, most of the times, lazy to do. It is a means to let frustration out, a way to divert your attention from whatever have caused those frustrations. Well, I am not sure this is true for all, but this is definitely one of my ways to cope up with stress. Feeling good over a successful, spontaneous activity.

The Matcha Crepe Cake


What I have for today is a Japanese Inspired creation, fused with a Parisian twist. The Matcha Crepe Cake.

IMG_20180130_190146.jpg

Are you tempted to grab a fork and stab me in the head?


Our very first encounter with this delectable dessert was in a local coffee shop located near our place. This place, the Green House Coffee and Dessert, was a go to place for me and my hubby while we wait for our son to get dismissed from school at around 11:30AM. Often, while waiting, the matcha crepe cake would be the very first order that would come to mind along with a pair of drinks. Unfortunately, this coffee shop has already closed down last December 31st, and our weekly dose of matcha came to an abrupt halt.

After weeks of longing for our matcha cravings, my hubby, @shote.said, thought of making it himself. The next stop would definitely be a visit to youtube and checking out what they have in store for the matcha crepe cake. It did not take us long as the very first one on the list already showed us what we needed.

Easy enough, that was how our matcha crepescapade began.

Not too long ago, we already bought our Matcha Powder which was sold for 10USD/100g. We already had the whipped cream on hand, so is the rest of the other ingredients. Matcha was the last remaining piece of the puzzle, and after having that finally in our pantry, it is only a matter of time now.

Coping up!


I am not sure if I am different. But I am the type of person who goes about doing stuff when I'm stressed. In this particular case, the matcha crepe cake was at the center of my attention. This is something I really need to do and should come out successful to relieve that bit of stress from me.

IMG_20180130_185800.jpg

Peek-A-Boo! Where's your fork?


Stress into more stress, I guess.

And so as my hubby went to send my son to school and proceeded to the gym, I took my me time to matcha land and slowly made my crepes one at a time. It is as seen on the youtube video above, I think it would be best to just watch her, it is pretty much the same, it's just that she just looks more organized than I was.

And so it begins...


IMG_20180130_185817.jpg

Care for another slice? I know you're dying for seconds...



With just a couple of hours in the kitchen, I was able to prep, cook, assemble and pack it in the fridge and let it stay there for a few. That should be right about ready after we eat our lunch today as soon as they arrive from school. With an hour left for myself, I'd say, that was one successful coping mechanism, and I'm energized to tackle what ever is there that would come at me.


Finish Line


This was the very first dessert I copied directly from a Youtube source. I had the experience of copying main dishes, but never pastries and desserts such as this. But I'd have to say, this is pretty much something I could call a success.

IMG_20180130_190228.jpg

Can't get enough of me, can you?


However, I would like to point out, and I am not sure if you guys have noticed, there is an uneven distribution of the whipped cream filling. I was actually hesitant to use more, fearing that I will run out of whipped cream for the entire crepe cake. But overall, the texture is how we would expect it to be, sweetness for me is just right, and the matcha flavor is well balanced. If anything, I'd really recommend her recipe as it is definitely very easy to follow. But if you are a local here in Cebu, and would rather just buy one - this is definitely up for costing. Maybe soon we can have this available made to order? (Just kidding, or not.)

What I can say for sure though is that the success of this replica definitely took a bit of stress from me that day. Something I would suggest you guys try doing. Feeling down and low, or even stressed from work or the business? Try to get out, get a breath of fresh air and do something productive. You can wash your own clothes for all I care, or even cook or even bake some hearty dishes. I cannot guarantee it taking all of your stress away, but the success you will have will definitely relieve some of it.


That's a WRAP! But this is something I did not make. LOL


That is definitely a wrap. I had a heck of a time making this dessert, something that my family as well as my in-laws would certainly enjoy with coffee for breakfast. If you have plans or have already made your versions of this delectable dessert, feel free to share them here, I would want to hear your story in the comment section below.

If you enjoyed this article, please continue to support me by hitting on that UPVOTE and RESTEEM buttons. And follow me if you haven't yet, and check out my future posts. This should be one of very many food posts that I will be doing.

See you on the next one! CIAO!


@newkidintown


Source 1 2
The last photo, as well as the youtube thumbnail photo, does not belong to me, but to their respective owners. The rest of the Matcha Crepe Cake photos were taken by @shote.said's phone which was the only available phone to me at that time.
Sort:  

looks very delicious and wants to eat it

It is surprisingly very easy to make, key ingredient here is the matcha itself which I believe is the most difficult to buy if you cant find any Japanese grocery available in your area. Most of it is readily available, I hope.

yum!!! need the recipe

@teddythebear, if you can check out the youtube video above, all the details are there. Enjoy and have fun!

Wow this is sooo delectable! Nice post! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64278.56
ETH 3504.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54