Archery - A Date Night at WildBow!

Our adventure in SM Seaside, Cebu did not stop at filling our tummy's to the sumptuous Dimsum dinner that we had in Tim Ho Wan. It took us to another type of adventure both me and @shote.said has never tried before. Despite having Carlisle tagging along, we cannot help but try for ourselves what it truly felt like to shoot an arrow from a bow. Something that we only see either in the movies or games, this is a very uncommon sight to see here. And to have it experienced in real life is a feeling we are desperate to try that night.

Archery


Something that I believe everyone already know. Pulling a string to launch an arrow from the bow which is usually made of wood, attempting to hit a target from a distance. Easily said than done, holding the bow and pulling the string was an easy thing to do, hitting the target was a different story.

There are plenty different bows ranging from different places, from different cultures. The one that we dealt with that night was what I believe was a Recurve Bow from Optima. More with the feels as I invite you to join me in WildBow.

WildBow


Welcome to WildBow, a shop in SM Seaside where they let you shoot a minimum of 15 arrows for a price. It was funny that we were the very last pair of customers that they received that night since the mall was about to close - destiny as I called it.

15 Arrows cost about 3USD, 30 Arrows cost about 5.50USD

We still had to wait awhile as there were still a handful of people ahead of us, hands itching to shoot that arrow as people go in one after the other. We waited in the sidelines witnessing each arrow launched from another person's bow. It was exhilarating to see all the while feeling nervous and intimidated with something new.

20180211_203206.jpg

The Experience


And finally, it was our turn. We were guided over to the game room and introduced to the bow. This is really the first time I've held one in my hands, it needed a larger grip than I expected, but it sat comfortably well. We donned the cuffs to protect the string's whiplash and was briefed with the rules and a crash-course on how the bow should be strung.

20180211_203214.jpg

After all that, we were handed 15 arrows each, while Carlisle sat there watching us from the sidelines with a Youtube video to kick him out of boredom of waiting. We stood there, bow in tow, trying to get to the form needed to shoot those arrows. Straightened back, bows held stiff, loaded the arrow, pulled the string back far enough to touch my face, elbows cocked in straightened position - inhale, exhale - release. And the arrow flew straight into what I thought was the target - hitting just outside the entire target mark. Again... and again and again, and I saw that I got better and better with every shot. Finally being able to hit the next one beside the bulls eye. I was extremely happy as I've never thought I would be able to do this in the first place - I felt like I was a naturally born archer.

@shote.said, on the other hand, was struggling to find his rhythm. With more arrows landing on the upper left hand portion outside the target, he looked disappointed that he was not able to hit the target consistently as I did. One of the trainers never left his side, attempting to adjust his scope every time while I only had the trainer for the first few shots. But even with the trainer there, he really was not able to get the arrows in - well just a few.

20180211_204846.jpg

Somehow, his shots were flying, as he said, in the 10 - 11 o'clock outside the mark. Even after all that adjustment and correcting form and posture. I guess it was really not for him and I felt bad about it. But after all that, he still had a smile on his face. I guess this was all because this was the first time he ever held a bow. He said that he had only held a bow with his characters in the online games he has played. Something I cannot relate to.

20180211_205324.jpg

Final Thoughts


Archery is all about pulling that string back and catapulting the arrow towards the target. Like I said, easier said than done when you want to really hit your mark. Something I believe would really take time and practice. But for all that's worth, I want to come back for more. The experience and the feels of being able to hit your target really gives me joy and satisfaction. Every arrow that finds it's way inside the mark makes me want to fling a new arrow closer and closer to that bulls-eye. I want to keep coming back for more.

20180211_205302.jpg

Though SM Seaside is miles away from where we are, this might be the reason why we will be coming back. A new way to enjoy, an experience that is fun and exciting.

If you are ever in town and want to see how you could string that arrow into that bulls-eye. WildBow is for you. 15 arrows for the price is easy enough to justify the exhilarating experience you will be getting out if it. A friendly set of staff members that would teach you and guide you all the way is definitely a plus. An experience definitely worth each and every arrow shot.

Finish Line


I will definitely come back for more soon. And if ever you have an archery range near your area, and has never tried firing one, I suggest you do. I've said it a thousand times, and I will say it again, it was an exhilarating experience I will surely miss.


That is definitely a wrap! Please FOLLOW me, as I am planning to do more good to know stuff.
Support me by hitting that UPVOTE button and RESTEEM this post as well!


@newkidintown


Sort:  

Oh! So there’s an archery stall in SM Seaside?

Yes there is already. Check out WildBow, located somewhere near the BDO parking lot, I'm not sure which floor exactly.

Oh surely will. 😊

I am sure you will definitely enjoy trying it out. Good luck on that bullseye :)

Archery is like meditation, relaxation, art and science rolled into one. Not only challenging but spiritually exhilarating.

Much like the martial arts, the benefit and pleasure is derived from the complexities within the simple.

That is really spot on. I agree to every word. Archery in it's simplicity exhibits so much complexity while performed.

Did you imagine a face on that target? Great shooting Maria...great shooting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64278.56
ETH 3504.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54