I am confuse, is this what this community is about? will this take me closer to my dream?

in #steemiteducation6 years ago

Hi guys, it feels both good and great to be finally here, after about 3 weeks of waiting, I got approved about an hour ago.
My name is Adesuyi Tosin, and I currently teach kids in a small village in Northern Nigeria-An area that has been under siege from a deadly terrorist group BOKO HARAM. Boko Haram main mantra is to put a stop to Western Education, in a region that is very underdeveloped and has about 90% illiteracy rate (world bank Facts), they have burnt schools and killed so many teachers and students, among which are some kidnapped school girls (CHIBOK GIRLS),
Under this condition and much more have I gathered up about 32 boys and girls who have never attended school before. Teaching them simple mathematics and English language daily from 2 pm to 5 pm.
I will talk more about this in a future post.

So we have needs in our mini school, like stools, books, and boards, and I have been looking for ways to raise money to cater to these needs before stumbling on steemit. I have had different failures e.g crowdfunding but the encouragement and smiles I get from these kids daily won't allow me to give up.

So here I am, having read dozens of articles on steemit, I will like to ask this community if I got the terms right and if I can really make money on this platform.
here are what I learned over the last three weeks.

Steemit is a social media website just like Facebook and LinkedIn, however, it rewards it users with steem.

Steem is a form of cryptocurrency (just like bitcoin) use to reward users of steemit

I can earn in the community by writing meaningful and interesting posts
I can also learn here by upvoting other peoples vote and commenting on their post...."This is great"

When I create posts here, I am rewarded as an author and when I comment on your post I am rewarded as a curator.

I will be paid about seven days later...it is so fast
The more steem power I have, the more my reward as both an author and a curator

I hope I have been able to capture the essentials for a newbie
Thanks and don't forget to please show me some love and upvote

Oh i forgot, my dreamk is to have a standard school in Dutsen wai

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit @mzteem that's good to know that you are teaching the kids in small villages it's a noble job. Keep it up and more power to you. =)

thank you so much and voila i have earned my first few cents here
pls follow me back as i will be posting about the school occasionally

Welcome to steemit

thank You

You pretty much got it. Thanks for all that you do!

comment pic.jpg

thank you so much and please do follow me, i will very much appreciate it

Just did- would appreciate the same if you think I can provide value to you

welcome! Im glad youve decided to joined the party!

Long live and prosper.

I have no option, if i want to get books for my students and ensure the see the real value of education, then i have to be here and work toward earning and learning, kidly follow back

Welcome to Steemit! Keep the good work up, I try to help as much as I can when it comes to this subject! We all deserve a good good life :)

Wish you all the best!
@sanktnico

pls don't stop, there are people in different part of the world who will never have the luxury of attending an elementary school. For example, I grew up in Dutsenwai and I happening kid in my street who ever attended school, i believe, location, religion, country or gender should never be a barrier to education. No one pays me but i love to be around the kids and teach them and show them what the outer world means. It means a lot to me and pls do follow back

Welcome to steemit! Exciting to read about your passion to teach the kids. The world needs more people like you. I have followed, I really hope you will succeed.

thank you so much and pls do follow me back

Hello, I'm Oatmeal Joey, and time is money and money is time or something like that.

thank you and do follow back

pls do follow back

Welcome upvoted you and hope your dreams come true full support

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57020.43
ETH 3081.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41