You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Autism (Awareness Month) Spectrum

As a mother to 3 Autistic boys I love Autism awareness month. I think it starts the conversation, and that’s when education and acceptance can filter into the mix.
Yes, every child on the spectrum is different, trust me, my 3 boys all have their own set of challenges and needs. I think Autism awareness month is excellent in that it is bringing awareness to that. It celebrates their differences.
Autism awareness month also does do more than just raise awareness. Throughout April there have been many free seminars and information days held just here in my area, covering everything from behaviours to fussy eaters. We had a fun run/walk to raise money and awareness. Local businesses had free entry and limited number entries so that children with autism could attend movies, water parks, play centres that they would not normally be able to attend.
My view is that Autism awareness month is more than just what it says in the title. I believe it is Autism action month. I also think any form of education, awareness, action and conversation about Autism is beneficial.
As for being compared to Sheldon Cooper, I love it. His character has given my oldest son someone to relate to. I think they need more characters like him on T.V. Not just with Autism either, we should celebrate every form of ability.

Sort:  

I am so happy you stopped by to comment. When I was writing this I was honestly hoping you would see it. I love what you are doing with your blog. The posts you write about your kids are fantastic!

I actually almost included a bit about AMCs Sensory Friendly Movies but the post was already so long. I think Autism Awareness month has really opened a lot of business owners' eyes. That alone is a major accomplishment.

I too agree that it doesn't really matter what you call the month as long as that in practice it is has some substance and isn't all just talk and banners.

I love that there have been free seminars in many areas.

There is still a lot of work ahead but at least this is a start.

Thank you so much for taking the time to read and comment on this. It truly means a lot to me.

Your most welcome.
I’m going to have to go back and read your other posts on autism.
Thank you so much for your ongoing support. It means so much to me that you read my blog.

It means so much to the community that you write them!

I am really sorry I don't comment more. I spend a ton of time reading and voting for the education project that I find very little time to comment. Please know that I think you sharing your experiences is incredibly valuable for this platform and parents in general.

I bet a lot of people read your content (and even more will in the future) and say, "Wow that happens to me too!"

Keep being awesome!

Thank you,
I totally understand not commenting all the time, I have so little time free and finding time to comment eats up my time when I could be reading another post. So I get it.
Thanks again!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57142.47
ETH 2437.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39