Metzli's Reading Log #4

in #steemiteducation6 years ago

Crazy Rich Asians .png

This is my report for what I read yesterday, Oct 17 2018.

Book: Crazy Rich Asians
Author: Kevin Kwan
Pages: 193 - End

Sometimes when I binge on books like this I get a little mad at myself. I start thinking that if maybe I had read slower, and savored the book as I went, then at the end of the book I wouldn't feel still stuck in the story. I am still a little stuck in this story.

Then I realize that if I were to read slower, the book would end up like "Juliet's Nurse," "Theodosia," and "The Paris Wife," unfinished and lost somewhere, taken back to Rocket Reuse.

Reading Log Quotes.png

At first I was annoyed because the story didn't really end. Then I reminded myself that a story without an ending is still a story.

This book is actually a three part series, and I can see myself reading half of the second book, and flipping the pages of the third book. It is written in a way meant to intertwine a few stories, but it ends up simply telling two stories within the same setting/book, which meant that I wanted to skip full chapters, because I didn't really want to read about cheating husbands, but I read them anyway. Turns out the author wanted to highlight a cultural part about cheating, but wanted to do it in a fairy tale like setting that didn't probe too deep into the issue, which made it palatable to read about in a fun book.

Thanks for reading today's Reading Log. If you decide to start your own, feel free to link it in the comments section.

This is my attempt to tokenize reading. Liquid rewards will be cashed out and spent on books. $0.469 SBD has been accumulated so far

MetzlisLight Etsy Banner Steemit .png

20180516_002249_0001.png

images and graphics created by me using canva templates. picture used came from canva as well. children's literacy graphic from barefoot books steemitmamas banner used with permission of steemitmamas, metzlislight banner created on canva

Sort:  

Hey metzli I’m sorry I haven’t chatted with you in awhile. I was testing out a new website like steemit but it has a different crypto which I actually just posted about. Also maybe we should do a collab post sometime.

Cool. Thanks for stopping by.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99