How to Figure Out How Much Your Upvote Is Worth

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

how to figure out how much your upvote is worth.jpg

The value of your upvote is based on several different factors.

Some factors are current Market Value of Steem, and the number of people using the steemit system. Those factors are controlled by the market.

Other factors are, your current Steem Power and Your Voting Power.

What is Steem Power?

Steem Power or SP is the amount of Steem you have vested in the Steemit community.

You can obtain steem power by buying it, receiving a delegation (someone lets you use their SP), or earning it (by blogging and/or commenting on Steemit).

You can see the amount of SteemPower you have in your steemit wallet.

IMG_8206.jpeg

In this wallet you can see 0.240 Steem, 257.119 STEEM POWER and 10.238 STEEM DOLLARS

What is Voting Power?

Voting Power, is the amount of power your upvote has.

You get Voting Power just for having a steemit account.

Everyone Starts with 100% Voting Power.

Every time you upvote something, your voting power goes lower, your voting power regenerates on its own.

I track my voting power using https://steemworld.org/@metzli. Replace @metzli with your own handle to see your information.

IMG_8198.jpeg

The Chart above can be found on the top left corner of steemworld. It tells you what your voting power is and how much your upvote is worth.

If your voting power is too low, stop upvoting and wait for your account to be regenerated.

IMG_8205-1.jpeg

The Chart above is also on steemworld, towards the middle of the page. The box, with a line that says vp --> 100% (I circled it) that value tells you how long it will take to get your upvote to 100%


Those are the tools I use to see how much value my upvote has.

But how much is an upvote really worth?

By looking at the charts, it would seem that the upvote being shown on the chart is worth $0.050 but $0.050 whats?

SteemUnits

IMG_8208.jpeg

The picture above is from one of my blog posts. You see that the Post is worth $9.68 Steem Units. If you click on that number, a box pops up which tells you what $9.68 Steem Units Converts to. Roughly $4.84 SBD and $1.60 STEEM POWER.

At payout. The author receives 75% of the SBD and 75% of the STEEM POWER. Please note that $75% is a rough estimate.

That is the same way your upvote get valued

This is why steem dust exists, and why it is not recommended to upvote posts or comments that have a total value of $.03 units or less. By the time your upvote gets converted from Steem Units to SteemDollars/SteemPower and then divided amongst author and curator, if the numbers are too small for the system to register, your efforts turn to dust and disappear.


Thank you for taking the time to read this post.

This post was written from a conversation that happened on the SteemitMamas discord server. If you are a momma, please click on the banner below and come visit us.

Special thanks to @happycrazycon for encouraging me to write this post and @corrielaine for asking questions.

If you have any other question, please ask in the comments. If I don’t know the answers then maybe we can find them together.

20180516_002249_0001.png

Sort:  

This is great! Thank you!

You’re welcome :)

I do check my own bandwidth and voting power at steemd.com/@opeyemioguns and it always bring the full informations you need just like steemworld you use too

All I always check is when would my bandwidth is gonna be changed back, I don't have enough steempower,my 100% is 0.003 😂 😂 😂 so what I'm I checking

I used to feel like that too. What am I checking?

Then I started to use the tools, to set my goals.

My first goal was for my upvote to be worth $.01. At that time, I needed 32 SP to get that.

Now my goal is a little more lofty. I’m looking to hit 500 SP by September.

Clear and concise! Thanks for posting this, I know it will be helpful for many people! ♥

Thanks, if they see it, right?

Ahh so true...

I am so amazed how fast you got this post up. It will be very helpful to lots of people. Thank you for taking the time to write this out and explain it ;)

I saw it in my minds eye and wrote it before it left. Lol.

Haaaa! Wow you’re good! A true writer indeed~

Dear @metzli!!!! You know I am so thankful to you for writing this because you explain it do well. You are soooo ever efficient and I always love you for that 😘 hope this post gets its exposure and rewards too.

resteemed

Thank you for encouraging me :)

Seriously I was out of steemit for 4 days because of that. I was upvotign everybody with 100% and my upvote was worth nothing. It is hard, coz I wanna vote all my steem friends so badly!
PFFF!

I feel you. I don't have a slider yet so all my upvotes are at 100%. I wouldn't want to upvote with less than a nickel anyway - dust dust.

I guess we are just going to keep building up our SP so we have more Steem love to share.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63793.25
ETH 3410.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59