Brilliant entrepeneurs in our school

One day one of teachers came to my office, but looking at her face, I knew something was wrong. She said she will tell me…. but they sold something that I would not believe.  I laughed at her face and told her that it can’t be that bad, but she told me to guess.    

image source

I started guessing things like marbles, sweets and other things that children like.  She burst out laughing and said 

“No, they are selling lice that they catch from one of the kids’ that was diagnosed with lice earlier in the week." 

We all know that if someone has lice, then they are not allowed to come to school.

image source

I could not believe my ears. “Do you know who started it?” I asked and she told me that she didn’t know but that we now had a serious problem with lice in the school.  We had to call in the school nurse to come check them out. 

I immediately phoned her and she was there in a very short time, because lice can spread very easily and we might just have a big problem.

I started asking the children with the lice one by one where they got them from. Not one of them could pinpoint one specific child. At the end of the day I had to send out letters to the parents to explain to them exactly what happened and that they should please ask their children not to sell their lice as it was really become a big problem at school.

There were about twenty kids that could not come to school for quite a few days and I think the parents gave them a lot of issues about this. 

image source

Later that year a parent came to me and said he knows that it was his son selling the lice, but he was new at the school and was trying to make friends, unfortunately it was just the wrong way to do it.  The parent said he was so sorry and that it would never happen again.

Then there was another little boy who came to school with a lot of money.  He wanted to buy sweets for all his friends and it was just weird that such a small boy would come to school or would even be allowed to come to school with so much money.  When I asked him where he got the money he told me that it was his birthday money and his mom said he could bring it to school.  I checked on the system and saw that it was far from his birthday so he was definitely not telling us the truth.  I eventually phoned the mother and asked her if she gave him the money to come to school. 

She nearly had a heart attack and said that she did not give him money but that there was money disappearing from her purse every morning and she had no idea what happened.  

Later on I called the child to my office and spoke to him about stealing, and he told me that the only way the other kids would be friends with him was if he bought them sweets.  

I explained to him that friendship can never be bought. Friendship and trust is earned by being a good friend.

I did the same with the child with the lice, and perhaps today he is a very good salesman. Friendship and trust is earned by being a good friend.

image source

This is a very important lesson in life.  Friendship cannot be bought and a friend in need is a friend in deed.  

Thanks for reading my story and greetings from Wild Coast.


Sort:  

Very instructive story! And funny as well!

Thank you so much.

Funny and sad at the same time - enjoyed reading it

Thank you anneke you always make me feel good.

O my gosh! For real? Lice? What a nightmare for all the parents. I hope the children have found some true friends since then and can use their sales skills for something profitable and good as they mature. Truly, I was surprised at this story!

But is a true story, had many of these funny things happen as a principal.

Wow! Well, i guess you have plenty of material for endless steemit stories!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61372.42
ETH 2928.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66