Misconception #6: Low Voltage Shocks Are Not Dangerous

in #steemiteducation7 years ago (edited)

So today's post is regarding a wide-spread misconception, that is practically quite .. DANGEROUS.

In fact, many people, myself included, are generally under the notion that low voltage, like one found in batteries, is quite safe to deal with.

Heck I cannot count the times we had played with batteries as young kids. Parents scold their kids to stay away from electric outlets, yet not so when it comes to batteries.

Well, the truth of the matter is that:

Low Voltage Shocks Can Be Quite Dangerous!

So now that you've been warned, let us dig into the explanation.

How Come?

The main reason behind the risk is not merely the voltage, yet it is the current of electricity (measured in amperes/Amps or milliamps/mAmps). So even a battery with as low as 12V, while normally not fatal, can still cause some serious damage.
So to make it simpler, it is the amount of amps that can lead to muscle contraction, burned tissues, and heart fibrillation.
Of course, the higher the voltage, the higher the risk, and this is all governed by Ohms Law:

So there are several factors to the equation. Voltage, current, and body resistance. Higher amps, higher voltage. Higher resistance, lower amps.
And resistance differs from person to another, and from condition to another.

  • How much body fat does the person have? how hydrated is he/she?
  • Is the person a male or a female
  • How is the contact with the electrical appliance? direct with the skin (hand to hand, hand to foot,...)?
  • Is there sweat or blood on skin (which worsen the resistance)? or on the medium of contact?

Chart below illustrates some of the mAmps effects on different persons

You can also see some of the resistance values in Ohms in the chart below

If you combine those two charts together, you can notice that a voltage as low as 20V, in the right conditions, can lead to serious health risk.

There was even a recorded case where one sailor was able, through conducting an experiment, to electrocute himself to death using a 9V battery, as explained on the original reference:

When we did the experiment in the electrical safety class to determine our body's resistance, we found a resistance of 500K Ohms. Using 9V and 500K Ohms in the equation, we come up with a current of 18 microAmps, below the "feel" threshold of 1mA. However, removing the insulation of skin from our curious sailor here, the resistance through the very good conducting electrolytes of the body is sharply lower. Around 100 ohms, in fact, resulting in a current of 90mA - sufficient to stop our sailor's heart and kill him.

So instead of using the "Danger: High voltage!" we might opt for a more accurate warning sign:

Danger: Voltage!

Hope you learned something new today .. and thank you for stopping by!
@mcfarhat


From this series:

If you enjoyed this post, you might want to check out my earlier posts from the "Misconceptions" series:


References:

Photo Credits:


My posts aim to be contribute to the following projects:

Sort:  

Great article! I ll go check your other misconception posts as well :)

Thank you @stoodkev!
Glad you liked it, and hope you enjoy the others as well as this one.
Cheers!

Oh I didn't know this story of the sailor. Interesting example. I may use it in real life for illustrating lectures ;)

Yes indeed, I was amazed finding out about it as well!
Thanks for stopping by and for all the support!

I am a electrician and from the good information you are putting out i have to give you props, also know typical USA power of 120v can also be dangerous because you can get stuck on to the power source vs a 220v you would just get entirely blown away

Well thank you @alt-coin for such kind words!
Yes well said, both can be extremely dangerous

I have been a low voltage technician for over 25 years, and somehow I have not managed to electrocute myself yet. I have got zipped pretty good a few times. Your post is accurate. All electricity has the potential to be dangerous. IMO High voltage DC scares me the most

Thanks @sostrin, coming from a guru in the field means a lot.
Stay safe !

Low voltage as in below 1000V ac?

Way below like 48v and under

Ah. We class up to 50V AC as extra low voltage over here.

Danger: High Current. 😀

haha well said!

Excellent work. real glad I have discovered you. I love things like this. I am a huge fan of No Such Thing as a Fish and this is similar but different. Thanks.

Well thank you @spunkpuppet , pleasure is mine!

I recall my dad having me test 12v batteries (the square ones) by touching them on my tongue for a quck zap...lol

Pretty sure with what I know now days that same voltage could kill somebody if they had any kind of technology implants....Which we will only start seeing more and more with BCI devices. But I was referring to like a pace maker here...

Oh my LOL. Dangerous bro! I guess you won't be asking your kids to do that now :D
thanks for stopping by !

Wow, that's new info. But I will ignore this warning and keep playing with the batteries!!!

Thanks for stopping by! You've been warned LOL

Excellent post, I liked it, I follow you to read what you publish, you pass by my profile, maybe something that interests you too, keep posting like this :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63036.79
ETH 3067.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82