Solving Two Linear Equations by Substitution Method

Substitution Method to Solve System of Two Linear Equations

In the previous post we learned how to solve two linear equations using the graphing method. In this lesson plan I will discuss how to solve system of two linear equations using the Substitution Method. Very easy topic for grade 9 or 10 math, if students know basic algorithm to solve a linear equation.

Substitution method can be bit harder once the equations have complex coefficients such as fractional coefficients. Then there is another method called "Elimination Method" can be used to solve such equations. We will discuss that method in my next post.

Sort:  

3x-2y=-1 (1)
2x+y=4 (2)

(2)*2+(1)==> 4x+3x=8-1 ==> 7x=7 ==> x= 1
y=4-2x=2

Thanks for the solution dear @justyy. Yes, you solved using elimination method. I will explain it in my next post.

Where have you been with your beautiful lessons 40 years ago, my dear @mathworksheets ;)

Ha hahaaa! 40 years ago, I just started my journey to learn these math lessons myself!!

hahahahaha...

I wish had this 20years ago, would have been some active Engineer now.

My cert in Engineering aint fetching me Income so i ditched it😀......Travails of my country

Big upvote and resteem…

Thanks a lot my dear friend @photo-trail. I really appreciate all your support and appreciation :)

I really love your posts, I still at the beginning for small children. Hopefully they will succeed much better once they get to your blog.

Thanks a lot for your love and support My Lady. You send a lot of positive energy encouraging me to create more content.

I almost got kicked out of school for doing these equations in my head and not showing my work on a test...teacher swore I was cheating until we did it again in a private setting

Actually it should be your way, you don't need to show your work as long as it is not asked in the question. You could have written the thinking process. But sometimes being so smart is "too good to bee true" for other people.

i have missed the the maths works☹

But I still remember to call you once I will start grade 11 math and do calculus lesson plans.

i will be thrilled to have refreshers😄😄😄

You are a math wizard @mathworksheets
The space exploration industry needs you.

He heheee!! Thanks for the comment dear @cryptopie!

@mathworksheets got you a $1.52 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice!
@mathworksheets got you a $1.52 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice! (Image: pixabay.com)


Want a boost? Click here to read more!

Theacher, felicitaciones que bello tus post.

Muchas gracias!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67403.09
ETH 3246.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65