Integral of 1/√e^2x+1

in #steemiteducation7 years ago (edited)

The integral of 1/√e2x+1 looks like a challenging problem. And it is, but it's not as bad as you would think. And as usual, there are multiple ways of tackling it.

t1.png

As I've stated, when it comes to the world of real functions, there really are only 2 methods of integration:

  1. Integration by substitution
  2. Integration by parts.

Let's have a go with integration by substitution. To do this, we let...

t2.png

And thus by rearranging, we can express e2x as...

t3.png

And now, differentiating both sides with respect to x...

t4.png

...and cancelling the 2's on both sides, then rearranging to isolate the dx term on the left-hand side...

t5.png

Alright. Now, that we have all of our bits and pieces, let's make our substitution!

t6.png

Now, the integral of 1/u2-1 can either be treated as an inverse hyperbolic problem, or a partial fractions problem. The latter is a less advanced, so let's go with that for now.

The fraction 1/u2-1 can be expressed as...

t7.png

...and breaking this up into its partial fractions...

t8.png

So the integral becomes...

t10.png

Cool, we're almost done. Let's now back substitute our expression for u to complete the integration...

t11.png

And that's it folks!

Please give me an Upvote and Resteem if you have found this tutorial helpful.

Please ask me a math question by commenting below and I will try to help you in future tutorials.

I would really appreciate any small donation which will help me to help more math students of the world.

Tip me some DogeCoin: A4f3URZSWDoJCkWhVttbR3RjGHRSuLpaP3
Tip me at PayPal: https://paypal.me/MasterWu

Sort:  

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 1.06 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @masterwu. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

Great maths tutorial but I think I need the start a bit before this.
Did you see my update for the Brisbane Steemup?

Yes mate. I did see that. Thanks for organising. Looking forward to it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63781.73
ETH 3407.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47