Little Rabbit's First Hike Through Nature

in #steemiteducation6 years ago

Earlier this week the rain let up for a day allowing me, my husband, and our daughter Little Rabbit to take a hike. Our next door neighbors are selling their property. It's 40 acres of Tennessee mountain forests with a farm at the top of a pretty tall mountain. Both my husband wish we had the money to buy this property and we got permission to check out the place from the realtor. This land is our dream property.

My husband has explored the land on his own many times. It's so big, it takes multiple trips to see it all. Because I've been in poor health since November, I haven't been able to go outside much. I'm finally feeling better and my husband wanted me to see the land with him. Deciding Little Rabbit needed an adventure outdoors, we bundled her up in warm clothes since it's chilly out and we took her on a hike.

This is the entrance to the land.

IMG_0184.JPG

It's been on the market a while and we hope that this view of the entrance keeps people from buying the place. We need at least a year to get our affairs in order to buy it we figure. The land has been abandoned for some time. There is a stream that runs through the property. The owners were building a concrete drainage pipe system to direct the stream underneath the driveway but they never finished. The stream for many many years has ended up flowing over the driveway etching a deep stream bed into it. You can't drive on the driveway entrance road anymore. It's funny to look out our window at people checking out the for sale sign, them seeing the flowing water through the driveway, and turning around never to return.

If you can get past the driveway, the road gets better. Yes, there are lots of fallen trees because you're in the woods and mountains erode so trees fall. But, my husband and I want those fallen trees there. Scares away potential buyers. The driveway road is probably half a mile long and goes in between two mountain sides. It's so beautiful. Right now the road is coated in leaves and it's just so peaceful. As you walk you're completely isolated and deep in nature.

Little Rabbit and Snowman

IMG_0226.JPG

We stayed on the road with Little Rabbit. She seemed to enjoy being outside walking with us. Interestingly, Snowman our cat followed us. At first he was meowing a lot. I think he was concerned about us wandering out of our territory. He followed us the entire half mile up the road and then back.

Little Rabbit loves Snowman and a lot of the time she would follow him. He's a good cat. I like to think he followed us out of concern. He seemed to stick with Little Rabbit a lot of the time so maybe he was watching out for her.

Snowman has no camouflage here.

IMG_0238.JPG

I have to be honest...I'm in terrible shape. Having a breast infection since November and then the flu this month, I've gotten very out of shape. Walking on a leaf covered road that was wet from rain with a toddler wiped me out. I had to stop and catch my breath a few times. Little Rabbit is getting heavy so picking her up to help her miss muddy puddles and fallen trees was hard. I'm thankful my husband helped me a lot with her when she needed to be lifted.

Even though it was a fun adventure, I was aware it was dangerous for Little Rabbit to wander. The road on one side drops off and has deep sections to the mountain stream. Fallen trees were everywhere. As long as we stayed on the nice road Little Rabbit was safe and sound. It's not an adventure I would take with her often and not without the help of my husband.

Daddy Rabbit Helping Little Rabbit

IMG_0230.JPG

IMG_0242.JPG

This 40 acres is my dream land. This post alone shows the man made road that goes across it. Maybe next post I'll show you where we ended up after we got a babysitter. You start climbing up a road that is man made up the mountain. You go up and up and end up on top of a mountain and the land is cleared and flat. There is very fertile farmland up there and a little higher than that is a spot my husband would love to build a house. It's one of the taller peaks and you can see far into the distance all the beautiful mountains. I hope no one buys it. It has no electricity, no sewer, no nothing which has kept interest away. It's just land. We already have a house next door. If we had this land we could farm and raise farm animals and be completely self sufficient. Right now it's just a dream though. I don't know if it could ever happen (sighs)...

All photos and content are my own.

Banner marx.jpg

Sort:  

Walking in the woods, what's not to like?


What someone says is far more important than how they say it!
Don't forget, you can upvote comments as well as posts!

We did see bear poop on our second trip out. I didn't like that lol. But yes, walking in the woods is usually very nice. :)

Hello @marxrab! This is a friendly reminder that you have 3000 Partiko Points unclaimed in your Partiko account!

Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem, and it’s the most popular Steem mobile app out there! Download Partiko using the link below and login using SteemConnect to claim your 3000 Partiko points! You can easily convert them into Steem token!

https://partiko.app/referral/partiko

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63179.13
ETH 2573.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72