Eighty Pages, 20,055 Words Later I Weep...

in #steemiteducation6 years ago

I tried so hard!

weeps loudly

I tried so hard to finish!

weeps a little less loudly

But I just couldn't do it!

sniffles then blows nose

I've spent the last three days locked in my bedroom trying to finish my dissertation. I had a goal of finishing a completed first draft by the end of Monday. I wrote 34 more pages...nine on Saturday, ten on Sunday, and I knocked out fifteen on Monday. I tapped out at 80 completed pages, six chapters, with a word count of 20,055 words. I've never written something this big before in my entire life!

My brain is fried. My ass is killing me. I sat and wrote for three days. My back and entire body are stiff from lack of movement. I feel like an old woman. I don't know how much longer this thing is gonna be but I'm nearing the end. I can see the end but I still feel there is more to say.

After 3 days locked in my room I went to see my lovely 9 ft tall sunflower....it died! weeps

IMG_7407.JPG

I guess growing such a large plant in a container garden didn't provide it with what it needed to thrive. At least I got to see it grow huge and pretty for a moment in time.

I deleted my entire five page introduction and rewrote it. I realized it contained junk from a previous draft that were no longer included. I couldn't fix it so I deleted it and rewrote it. I went through the first three chapters and did corrections where I saw flaws. And then I wrote 30 brand new pages in the last two chapters.

When you write a dissertation the two most important chapters are your results where you talk about the data you collected and the results you found and the discussion chapter where you make sense and explain what your findings mean. I've struggled for a long time to even start these two chapters. In Sociology you have to apply a theory someone else created to your analysis. My advisor picked my theory and I've been intimidated and overwhelmed with trying to figure out how to fit my work into someone elses theory.

But I finally got there. It took three days locked in a room by myself but I got my results and discussion written into a first draft. The discussion is about nine pages long but I feel like I need to say more to fully discuss my topic. I'd say I'll have another ten pages at the least written before all is said and done.

I feel a large sense of disappointment I still have more to write. Writing six chapters and eighty pages worth of research is no easy task and I so wanted to feel the wind in my face and the thrill of freedom. I do acknowledge that I wrote 34 pages worth of academic writing in three days which is no easy task. I also feel a tingle of freedom knowing I got myself over the blockade of fear that existed in dealing with theoretical models. The end is near. I can feel it. It's just going to take a bit more dedication to get to the end and graduate.

I very much miss writing for fun as I write for academia. The style is so different. Writing for fun you have freedom to say or do what you want. In academia you have to use scholarly language and have to pause to cite sources in APA format. You have to stick to a set of standards and rules set by academia which can be boring and crushing for those wishing to have creativity. I might be around steemit a little more but for those who keep up with me I'll be disappearing off and on as I work on those final pages of the greatest writing challenge of my life.

Sort:  

The hardest part is to start and that's what you did, so trust your qualities, successes!

Thank you for the encouragement!

I love to write. I hate to write for other people though. I once tried my hand at one of those writing sites where you write what they tell you to write. It was not fun. I can only imagine writing a very long dissertation about something that I don't particularly love.

I do those sites occasionally to earn extra cash. They aren't fun at all. In ways my dissertation topic is interesting and in another situation fun to write about. But the process of writing it is designed to be hard and painful as this right of passage type thing you have to go through to become one of the academic elites.

Good luck with that! They are incredibly long and, in my opinion, needlessly so. As a dyslexic person with poor eyesight, the abstract is usually about as much as I can take! :-)

Are you going to make your deadline to get everything turned in? When will you have to defend it?

Best of luck finishing it up!

I agree. They make you keep repeating yourself. It's like they make you act as if the person reading your work is an idiot who needs the same phrases said over and over a hundred times. Read the introduction and discussion chapters and you've got what you need. I guess I'll have corrections done by Oct 1 for my advisor. Then I do corrections for the rest of my committee and the grad school. I plan on defending after this semester is over.

That high-level academic writing is always a pain to read because of that. Academia likes a particular vocabulary and "dryness" that doesn't make sense. They must have a reason for it...


If you would like to support the educational community by delegating to @steemiteducation, please click on any of the following links. This will ensure that more teachers are supported on a daily basis.
100SP 200SP 300SP 400SP 500SP 750SP 1000SP 2000SP 3000SP 4000SP 5000SP 10,000SP 25,000SP

Fingers crossed and positive vibes from Michigan!!

In your own time, you will finish and it will say exactly what you want. You already have the hardest part behind you.

The rest is just time, a sorer butt and curse words you never knew you knew. :) It's all good and when it is over, it will finally be over and you can step over it and join the party.

I'll be thinking of you. And weeping alongside...

Good luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63657.90
ETH 2656.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84