Life Is An Endless Sonnet (An Original Poetry for Classroom Discussions)

in #steemiteducation6 years ago

Image Source


I write poems to expose my weaknesses

It's like watching the sun with my eyes wide open

Challenging the world to stop me from this madness

Or to keep me from the splurge of emotions I can't contain.


I write poems when I can't find my voice --

When there's so much going on, when my mind makes so much noise...

Forming a quilt out of jumbled thoughts until they finally make sense

Like stitching a fresh wound and bleeding until it mends...


I write poems when I'm lonely

A consolation for not having another soul beside me

Or to convinve myself that maybe, I'm not so useless after all

And that for me to rise, I unfortunately had to fall...



And fall I did.


But my wings remain clipped.


Somehow I'm still trapped.


But at least my mind's been freed.



So I write poems, in attempts to tease the insatiability of my heart

To bridge the gap that keeps the world apart

To strengthen my walls, to diminish my fears

I write poems hoping someone finally hears.


I write poems in hopes that they would move mountains

That somehow my passion could make a huge difference

To inspire and to encourage, to leave a personal legacy

To remind myself that at some point, I'm right where I wanted to be.


I write poems for my own freedom

And for everyone who can't speak loud enough

For the souls who couldn't get past being lonesome

For the silent prayers of those who felt unloved.


I write poems for you to know me

Because these are pieces of me in loose sheets

This is my soul, tangled between verses and rhythms of melancholy

This is me, my whole life, and all that I need you to see.


I write poems because I love to

And because life itself is an endless sonnet

It sits on a dusty shelf, waiting for us to continue

Giving us the chance to decide what happens next.




Thank you for reading!


❤❤❤






Sort:  

So I write poems, in attempts to tease the insatiability of my heart

To bridge the gap that keeps the world apart

To strengthen my walls, to diminish my fears

I write poems hoping someone finally hears.

A truly wonderful write, lyxng. Thank you for sharing:)

Thanks gorgeous!

Stunning stunning stunning - You have a wonderful gift

Thank you so much @anneke!

Really a wonderful poem, please more of this, waiting to read more from you

The poem is lovely

What a nice post. thanks a lot

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57111.61
ETH 2875.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69