The monolith of blood [ Pixel art Process ]

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

Creating a setting

monolith2x.gif

Hey there steemit, Before I start per usual I want you guys to check out @jonny-Clearwater 's Pixel art weekly contest! If you hadn't known, it may just be one of the longestrunning contests in steemit and I absolutely freaking love it to come back to this event every week. It gets my creative juices going really!
Anyhoo click me for the link to the glorious contest

Now on to the main topic!
This weeks pixel art weekly is about the theme " WATERFALLS" and what could be more fitting than a fountain of blood? I know pretty edgy right hahah But I just really like these sort of things whenever I do pixel art its just my thing.

m1.png

Anyway off to the tutorial/process and I sincerely hope you all learn a tiny bit of me and my thoughts.
So first things first I place in my composition, it's going to be a path leading to some sort of iconic or unique object in the middle. I would make contrast in my head by using different colours and a variety of shapes for the rocks but only one unique shape to make this mysterious object stand out!

m2.png
And heres the monument it's gonna be smack bang near the center and the rocks will sort of be like a path to guide you to this monument.

m3.png
Then I fill in the missing bits, Don't worry it may look plain but trust me getting the basic shapes and form is really important. Its gonna have a drastic change once i put in my shadows and lights.

m4.png
heres a path.

m5.png
I wanted to make this more "in ruins" so I added sillhouettes of rusted swords, I love my rusted sword. and with pixel art you dont have an abundance of the canvas to paint each sword so you have to gesture what it would look like far away.

m6.png
Add in that background, something dark to make the foreground and middle ground pop!

m7.png
A little bit of light reflecting off these swords/rods.

m8.png
AND BAM!! LIGHTING AND SHADOWS TO THE ROCKY MOUNTAIN/HILL.

m9.png
I felt the monument was too straight and boring, if you look at the sillouettes its a fairly meh shape so adding a few bumps would make it look more interesting to the viewer. also adding blood running.

m10.png
a bit of the light on the river of blood.

blood.gif
Whenever I animated I always do the base. then the shadows second. To get the overal gist of what the image would look like.

light.gif
Once I felt comfortable I places in some quick lighting to make something interesting.

fx.gif
And some rays of light or energy to keep the viewer engaged a few seconds more on this haha.

Anyway I hope you all enjoyed this small tutorial on my thought process with pixel art, but keep in mind this can be useful for your 2d sketching as well! I bid you goodnight as this factory worker has to get to bed and work soon :)

m1.gif

If you liked my content please do follow and upvote my post <3
education.png

@lunaticmoon

Sort:  

You seem to have a really great start with pixel art. If you keep practicing you will become better and better and i can only teal you that i find your wotk beatiful! Keep up! <3

Thank you <3
a few more months and it'll have been a year since starting pixel art! ^_^
can't wait to show a comparison soon

Oh man this is awesome, reminds me a bit of one of my favorite indie games, Risk of Rain!

Risk of rain was the shitttt I loved it

Too dope dude. I have basically a fetish for monoliths in my work lol. Too much evangelion, and 2001 a space odessy in my younger years. Also gives me some hyperlight drifter vibes. Keep it up! Cant wait to see more from you :)

HAHA duuude I freaking loved evangelion.
I'm honored to have you follow me and yeah hyperlight drifter was a really big influence on me, actually I met the designer and artist for hyperlight drifter a few months ago at a convention and a game dev meetup he's heckin cool!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66038.35
ETH 3444.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61