You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Christmas Legends and Traditions Around the World - Ireland

in #steemiteducation7 years ago

The Feast of the Epiphany (January 6th) is celebrated in Ireland as 'Nollaig na mBean' or Women's Christmas. Women of the land all get the day off and the men do the cooking and cleaning

You have never lived in Ireland, have you ? lololol

( I have - 3 xmas times spent there - if it was sunny, it would be my home, but its wet and grey..only 99% of the time though..)

Sort:  

No, I have never, I am just researching... What did I do wrong? lol!

Nothing hun - I just found it amusing.

I haven't been in Ireland for 15 years- but it is was the least 'role reversal' country I can think of! - hence the laughter of that tradition - I never came across it.

I imagine if the tradition of the post xmas day swim was common ( never seen it myself), the population of Ireland would diminish rapidly - everyone is waaay too hungover, or still drunk!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55515.17
ETH 2501.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30