You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Childhood Anxiety: Selective Mutism Disorder

This made my cry. There is a certain relief to reading that not only does what I experience have a name, but that the symptoms I feel are real & connected.

The cool part is that now people have phones & iPads, so even if we can't talk, we can still communicate. The receptionist at my doctor's office told me they have an app & I don't even have to find my voice to be able to call for appointments, technology is changing my life, I love it.

I really cherish the people I can openly chatter with, even though they don't understand how rare they are.

Another great read. So many feels. Thank you, you're doing important work. :)

Sort:  

@largelyuseless I am so amazed that no one told you about childhood anxiety mutism! It is a major problem for so many and due to a lack of awareness of it, people don't understand what is going on. Again, without this education, people assume so many untruths about the individual who has it. They don't know the pain it causes and adds anxiety to those who have mutism thereby adding to the anxiety and problem. A very vicious cycle downward.

I am glad you now know what you had/have and now you can get better with Neuroplasticity. Keep up the music therapy intervention. It might take time but it is worth all the hard work you are doing. Remember you really have a gift of knowledge that I think you should write about. Maybe even a book! Thank-you for your warm comments. It is deeply appreciated!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57956.22
ETH 3126.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45