You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Childhood Anxiety: Phobias

This was excellent & very comprehensive. I'm someone with a lot of phobias & anxieties & as you mentioned it did destroy my life because I didn't deal with it. I grew up in the 'tough love' era where bullying to get people over things was the norm, nobody in my orbit knew of such things. I was just lazy, making excuses, ect.

I'm so thankful that kids now have all these resource & knowledge to hopefully not have their lives derailed. It makes me very thankful that therapy & just being believing people has become slightly more mainstream. I'm still struggling at (nearly) 41 to have the words to get help.

Thanks for a great read, off to follow your links to the other articles. :)

Sort:  

Hi @largelyuseless! Never think that it was your fault because unfortunately any type of anxiety was never treated as an actual medical issue. They thought you could just grow out of it or grow up. If they knew then what they know now, the symptoms could have been minimized for you. You are definitely not alone. You'd be surprised at the number of people suffering from this.

I feel that there is a possibility to help many people with neuroplasticity. There is more research that suggests that with various experiences, the brain can actually regenerate and create new pathways to unused areas. It has the potential to help a lot of people that have brain related disorders. In my future research I want to look into neuroplasticity to see if there are more areas that it can actually help with.

One promising theory is that audio sounds like music can stimulate the entire brain thereby making new circuits throughout. I'm thinking that there is definitely some hope even for you. It is never too late to do something. I really appreciate you sharing your situation with me. Don't ever think that you can't get better. I truly think you can but it has to start within yourself. Thank-you for giving me some more thoughts about future articles.

Please take care and be very positive because I know if you can be on a higher level of happiness, things do and can get better. Thank-you@largelyuseless. I'm glad you read my post!!! :D

Yes! I love neural plasticity & sound therapy! They've both done SO much to help. It's exhausting creating new neural pathways, but so worthwhile. From the different Solfreggio frequencies to ASMR, they really do help, but it also requires having the means to self-soothe when sounds may trigger past areas that hold trauma.

To some extent I almost have to disassociate from my panic & be my own internal good mom/best friend. I'm so thankful I got to that point. I'm still disabled by my crazy, but I'm on the path to getting better. I finally started treated myself as if I believe me & it's made all the difference.

I'm glad I read your post too. Thanks for replying. <3

@largelyuseless I think you should take this opportunity and write about what you went through as a child and now. Your story would be such an important journey for people to see first hand what it is like for someone to experience all the challenges you faced. Writing is your power tool to channel all your pains and obstacles. Plus I truly feel that by writing you can release some of the frustration and anger that you have buried within.

My writing has had many purposes for me. One is to spread the word about areas that are often put aside or not written about. Another reason is because it has helped me to help others. When I was younger, I too faced many challenges and I always wondered what would have happened if I had then what I am writing today. What a difference it would have been for me. Thirdly, I am also able to release inner turmoil of past experiences.

So @largelyuseless I think you should write and also change your name to @largelyhopeful, @largelyhelpful, @largelyknowing, @largelyamazing, or @largelydetermined. Stop leaning toward the negative because you are not!

Finally, I am so glad that you found Neuroplasticity. I do feel it will help and if it helps you, you should write about your journey involving it. It would really help others. Thank-you for validating that my efforts of writing about all of this made a difference for at least you. I am deeply touched! Please take care! ....Cabbagepatch!

@largelyuseless I have so much I want to say to you but right now it is 1:00 in the morning so I better go to bed. But I promise I will reply tomorrow when I wake up. I am deeply touched by your comments. You are on the right path! Never ever give up because you have so much to give!!! :D ...Cabbagepatch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60788.02
ETH 2632.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63