You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to get old without aging

in #steemiteducation7 years ago

Honestly in most of biology I found a lot of the plant stuff boring until it came to talking about the specifics of photosynthesis (such as the Calvin cycle) so I can understand not finding plants as interesting. Even with studying the specifics, I still found studying the glycolytic pathway to be more interesting. That being said what I found truly interesting in your post is how you talked about how oak trees (and possibly others) prevent the accumulation of genetic mutations through the "storing" of stem cells. I am slightly curious on how that works but otherwise I actually found this concept to be really cool!

Sort:  

Hey Sven, thank you for stopping-by, I am not an ecophysiologist but while everyone is focused on the animal kingdom I like every now and then to keep on eye on plants, sometime you realize they came up with some interesting mechanisms for surviving in very harsh environments, for example we could learn from their ability to survive in low oxygen environments to design gene therapy strategies to treat or prevent stroke or to increase cell survival during transplants. There is a lot I don't know about how plants deploy their stem cells I will certainly read more about it, in the meantime if you would like to read some of the papers I cited I could send them to you if you don't have access to them

My university account gives me access to most paywalled articles so unless the article is posted in only a single niche place or something I should be able to access it. As soon as I get home I will check out the papers to read more, until then thanks for the reply!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59046.50
ETH 2654.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50