Teaching on ESL : My Perspective and ExperiencesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemiteducation7 years ago (edited)

Pic

I used to learn English since elementary in autodidactic way. English is not a compulsory subject until we enter junior high school. Actually, I learnt English by accident. I had a reason behind. So, what was made me did it? It's a teenage drama series; Dawson's Creek.


In 1999, English bump me every Tuesday night at 9.30 pm on TPI (now MNC), a national television broadcast. Yeah, I still remember the premier time of the series. I know it was a little late for elementary student's bedtime but I just couldn't let the drama pass. Although the drama brought a controversial about promoting western culture that time, but they kept airing it. My parents might not notice well about PG13 rule but I just loved the drama so I didn't miss it, not even once. Something more than the story pull me into: the language they used. That was the time when I regularly listen and learn English.


Okay, the point that I want to underline is the approachment of the learning. I see people are learning hard for English with serious grammar and so on. Well, I say, speak up!. Its's a tool not a dogma. Why it must be so serious with structure. I don't understand why Indonesian students have learnt English since junior high school within three years and another three years in senior high school but we can count very few who able to speak. Maybe it will show different number in the city but how about suburban or even rural area students? They maybe only listen English from their teacher but still have to pass English Standard National Examination.

Pic

There are several reasons that I noticed while I used to be a language teacher. Based on my experience, what factors made students hard to learn English,

  • Complex Grammar Rule
    That was a cause my students do not like English as they saw it a complicated grammar and tenses thing. They would stuck and stumble around the tenses since SMP (junior high school) and meet that again in SMA (senior high school). See? This was what preocupied them during six years on school seat. Six years they merely must be reminded about same old problem.

  • Teacher Center Learning
    Some teachers still do this, whether concious or not, teacher center based learning is a wasting time for English class. We need to listen our students. We need to reflect their obstacle during the learning. It is important to make them love the learning environment first. I have a dozens students who were reluctant on English and finally love it because we tried to see what was they look for in this language. We need to motivate their expectation for the learning progress.

  • Practice. Period!
    Whatever can be the reason during the learning process, but to ignore speaking practice? You are trying to sink the truely function of a language. Let them practice to pronounce from the easiest to the most difficult words. Let their tongue twisted for the sake of the learning. They will try to pronounce it uncounciously later. Devide students for a discussion or in pairs to make a converstaion, it will be good to enlight the language context.

Pic

  • Use it!
    Now it's time to use it. You can ask a native speaker or other English teacher with great Engkish skill to help you to be your guest speaker in your class. Give them time to share and discuss. You can be the moderator and reflect the progress learning at once. What you have to remember; DO NOT EVER CORRECT THEM WHILE THEY SPEAK. It will reduce their confidence for using English. Let them finish. You can remind them the point at the end of the class.

Language is used for communication tool. In my opinion, use it as what it functions is more helpful to understand rather focus on grammatical issue. I absolutely do not mean to ignore whole grammar rules. Every language has their own grammar and structures. Make students keep speaking as the best they can and slowly insert grammar by easy stage. Mastering a language means includes its grammatical rule as well. Let them adjust their language skills gradually until all skills are acomplished. Above all, the most important question is; why do we learn a language without ever use it? So, speak!



Sort:  

This interests me quite specifically. I'm working on a presentation for an organization that focuses on teaching English as a second language. That presentation is looking not only at ESL but also at autodidacticism. You've given me some material that I will be able to use. Thank you.

You're a great friend

Nice.. Thanks for this post @jumaidafajar

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58415.58
ETH 2485.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39