Study Habits, No Longer A Habit

in #steemiteducation6 years ago

BlogPostImage
Image Source(direct link to img)

When I was still a student, my mother would always tell me to study my lessons or do my assignments first before doing anything else. I took it by heart and became a habit until my college days.

Developing a good study habit is essential if you want to be successful. @kyrie123 enumerated some of the reasons why students fail in their exams. And I would like to add. One of the reasons why students fail in exams is due to lack of good study habits. Most of the students wait until the last day before the exam to study. They stay up all night trying to take in all the information overnight which is impossible. The result? They fail.


Image Source(direct link to img)

According to research, longer study hours was associated with academic
problems because the extra studying usually means less sleep for the
students.

Good study habits play a big role in the success and failure of the students. As an educator, I've seen the lack of study habits among my students which is a big challenge for us much more to the parents. If only the parents are sensitive to the learning needs of their children, they would have inculcated good study habits. In the end, it will serve them better. It will save them from cramming come test day.

As always,
@jonabeth

https://www.labster.com/blog/cramming-for-exams-is-it-worth-it/

Sort:  

As a college student, I did both; cram every thing up right before exams and in other years studied consistently during the semester; my performance was way better when I studied consistently during the semester.
My study habit was to read up on the topic we handled at class at the end of each other, so as to have a personal understanding of it rather than depending on the information given to us by the lecturer.

We all have our own study habit. In my case, I'd like to sit down alone and quiet, except when it comes to numbers of course. Two heads are better than one. Thank you for dropping by @belemo

I agree, students don't give time to study anymore. some rodents don't even read the questions inhe test specially if it is a multiple choice type of test.. Sad but true.

That's what I observed in my 12 years of teaching. Except those who are really aiming for honors

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62835.77
ETH 3392.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50