THIS IS VERY TOUCHING!! THEY NEED URGENT HELP!!steemCreated with Sketch.

IMG_20171212_175023.jpg

I am currently in a place called CHORI in Kaduna State in Nigeria. I am in CHORI for agricultural business, basically ginger farming.

This place is well populated with several youths and kids who have several dreams to become Doctors, Lawyers, Nurses, Pilots and the likes. I was impressed to see that they have dreams here.

THE CHALLENGE

Everyone here is basically a farmer. They do not know how to read, write or speak good English. There are schools here that have been abandoned by the government. The teachers teaching in these schools are not even literates.

A whole school can just have about 2 teachers teaching the whole school and the teachers don't even know how to read well. Most times the teachers do not even come to school. The students are always devoted to going to school because they want to be literates, but they end up doing nothing but play in school because it looks like they have been abandoned.

The population of the people here is quite high and I have seen several potentials in these young lards. We have students in secondary school and even those who have finished secondary school who do not know how to comfortably read or spell 2 letter words and recite the (2) times multiplication table. This is very touching and sad. It is almost unbelievable, but I have seen it for myself and I can testify to this fact.

MY DECISION

Though I was strictly here for business, I decided to begin by tutoring few students everyday in the evening after farm work. They are eager to learn and are picking up gradually. I really wish I will be able to stay much longer here to impact these guys with knowledge.

Success is leaving a place better than you met it. I decided to impact the lives of some Chori youths and children with knowledge. I will be so proud and excited to see that the little time I spent with them has really transformed and helped them academically.
IMG_20171212_181821.jpg

I am also thinking of creating time to come with several coaches and tutors to conduct a marathon training program for about 3months and if possible, come from time to time to ensure that they make academic progress.

MY PLEA

If you are an individual or organization and you are willing to make good impact, there is an opportunity here in Chori to transform lives. This people will remain forever grateful for whatever academic help that will be rendered to them. This is one of several opportunities to change lives.

Let's change our world, let's impact lives.

You can leave your suggestions by commenting on this post. I would love to hear from several steemians and NGO's looking for communities to help or transform in Nigeria or Africa.

Thanks For Taking Out Time To Go Through This Post.

Sort:  

This post received a 5% upvote from @morwhale team thanks to @jerryboy4luv! For more information, click here! , TeamMorocco! .

Awwwwwwwwwwww, you are just amazing.... I would like to be a volunteer teacher... But I am far away.....

Eh yah, sorry please can you help to verify their main pressing problem? Is it teachers or good classroom

Teachers. The classroom is not even the main challenge. I am teaching in the classroom like that as you can see and they are picking up gradually.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 56989.27
ETH 2425.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39