Everybody is allowed to have their own opinion.

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

People have always been opinionated. That's just the way human nature works.

If we all shared the same opinion then there would be no diversity and that would make for a very boring planet.

For as long as I can remember, it's always been this way.

I have my own thoughts and opinions, and you have your own thoughts and opinions as well.

However, lately I've noticed something that I'm quite certain is different than how it used to be.


Source: Pixabay.com

Lately everyone is convinced that their opinion is fact.

It seemed like there was a time when people were allowed to have their own opinion and no one would argue about it.

The opinion in question might be something simple like pizza is good or salads are boring.

It might even be something complex like pets should never be left outside.

I think it has a lot to do with political correctness.

There's a line through which, at some point, someone says this is wrong. That's because it's wrong for you but it may not be wrong for everyone else.

Eating meat is wrong.

I don't want to offend any vegetarians but that is an opinion and the rest of the world is allowed to disagree with you.

I don't know when this planet became a place where no one was allowed to disagree with each other.

We've all got our own opinions, and we've all got our own ideas about what is right and what is wrong.

Let's not fool ourselves into thinking that our opinion, as great as it might be, is a fact.

Opinions are opinions. We're all allowed to have them.

Sort:  

Thank you for writing this. I have felt the same way for quite a while. There used to be a time when I could have friendly (albeit lively) debates with my friends and family about any subject ranging from politics to religion to food. We rarely convinced each other to change our opinions, but at the end of the day we still thought highly of each other. Somehow that has all changed. I love the people in my life regardless of their opinions, even if I strongly disagree with them. Life is too short to let opinions come between friends.

I feel like people need to be reminded of the real definition of bigotry: "Extreme intolerance of any creed, belief, or opinion that differs from one's own." We should all ask ourselves if we are loving the people in our lives unconditionally, or if we are falling into the trap of bigotry.

I think it's getting a lot worse lately. It's like everybody's intolerant of everybody who is different than they are. It definitely strikes me as incredibly frustrating.

That's very true, after a while, there are way too many who are overly passionate about their opinions so much so that they try to make every one follow them. It's actually more refreshing to listen to other opinions than just hold on strongly to your own beliefs

I'm always open to hearing other people's opinions. In fact, I really like hearing other people's opinions however I really hate it when they tell me my opinion is wrong or when they act like their opinion is fact.

I really get tired of people being argumentative about petty little issues. I do see people getting angry about simple differences in opinion and making big deals about it all the time. Life's too short to argue over pizza being better than salads.

This is true. However, what I really hate is when people argue over the big stuff and they act like their own version of the truth is the correct one. There are few issues that I personally feel I am right about but I never throw those issues in another person's face.

It drives me nuts how we have to tiptoe around each other these day, people get offended way too easily, especially when their opinions differ. What happened to embracing and appreciating differences?

I'm not sure what happened to appreciating each other's differences but I have a feeling that something is going to come to a head pretty soon. A sort of "politically correct" explosion, if you will.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63843.45
ETH 2624.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76