You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: J. R. R. Tolkien – the man who gave us another world

in #steemiteducation7 years ago

This is wonderful. I guess some people only need one name. It helps if it is a unique name and the person is quite famous!

Thank you for this beautifully researched and written piece. I would never have known that Tolkien was born in South Africa. It’s also very inspiring to know how the idea for Middle Earth came to him. I do think that talented artists of every kind are conduits, like lightning rods, for amazing flashes of inspiration and creativity.

Sort:  

Yes, he doesn't really need another name.

I know, I was shocked too to learn that he was born in SA. He always seemed such an English gentleman to me, for some reason... And I loved the story about how the Hobbit idea came to him. It's truly one of those stories you hear about brilliant people.

Thank you so much for reading (and for the resteem) :)

I love bios of interesting people throughout history. It’s so inspiring when someone has a lasting impact, as Tolkein has. The Hobbit was a key reason I fell in love with both reading and writing. Thanks again for your informative post!

Indeed and I think writers are really underrated when it comes to having an impact in history. We all think of people like Tesla or Einstein or JFK, but how many lives does a writer touch?
Same here...I've always been a big fan of fantasy and fiction and it wouldn't be that way if I wasn't raised on Tolkien and other greats!
:)

True! Probably everyone would agree on Shakespeare’s impact and influence. But there are so many more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58482.75
ETH 2615.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42