Defibrillators, the resuscitation trolley and doing CPR

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

In our Coronary Care Unit (CCU) alone, we have 3 resuscitation trolleys and 4 defibrillators...the extra one is used to transport patients needing continous monitoring. With 11 catheterisation labs, each room will have a resus trolley and a defibrillator. It is a necessity to have those and no procedure must be done without these emergency equipments.

With Marie and @lodeekue8


Resus trolley checks

Before the shift starts, this is everyone's responsibility, that if and when an emergency arises, the equipments are functioning and complete. From airway adjuncts, emergency medications, IV fluids and other items listed that are needed in an emergency. Any malfunctions and missing items that can delay the resuscitation efforts is tantamount to negligence for the person who last check the resus trolley.

Seriously.

Although we take this to heart, in real life, I still have to see as such. Regular audits are a bitch and compliance is a MUST. Understandably as it is for SAFETY reasons. 

Double 2, double 2 aka 2222

It can happen anytime, and when it does, the whole ward gets disrupted. Just this one, and no matter how smoothly the ward is running, everyone too goes running to the patient. 

There was a research years ago where it found out that a healthy individual can deliver effective chest compressions in doing CPR.

Really? 

A research was needed to find that out? I can only last a minute in doing compressions. Honestly it's hard work! The size of the patient  do determines on how long a person can last in doing so. 

6 Noradrenaline, 1 amiodarone, 1 atropine...

Chest compressions when doing CPR

Can anyone do this without any experience?

Definitely!

Just slap your dominant hand on the chest, between the nipples, interlocking hands over the other and using the heel of your palm, do compressions, ideally for an inch to 1 1/2 depth. Aim to do 1 compression every second. Try not to RUSH.

We have had patients brought in by the ambulance where a family member started CPR, even with just chest compressions. There is such a thing as ADRENALINE RUSH, where a mere man becomes SUPERMAN. It gives you that super strength to physically do things that you're unable to do normally. Especially when it involves a loved one.

This video of Vinnie Jones is advising 2 compressions in a second, amounting to 120 compressions per minute. Ideally as this is the new update from ACLS and Basic Life Support. For medics.

I only want to show you on how to get the rhythm when doing so. With the normal heart rate of 60-100 beats per minute, 1 compression per second is sufficient. Less tiring and effective.

The newest update is as what it's shown, for medical staff, in a hospital setting where there are a lot of personnels to swap with when a staff gets tired.


Trivia: What is banana rich for that can prevent deadly rhythms?

All images are mine, taken with my Samsung Galaxy S7.

Sort:  

Some are in a hurry doing CPR maybe because of adrenaline rush.

I stay near the anesthetist lolsss
or i become the runner..most who come to help don't know where things are. Plus you can still monitor other patients😁😁

I'm a nurse for 7yrs but i never tried doing CPR yet😥.

Practice sa dummy..kapagod kaya.

I did.. I attended BLS last time. I've got perfect score . I dunno when real situation comes.🤔

You really don't want to have a real situation ate..

Hihikain ako if ever..

Swap when tired..don't be a martyr.

Over all that's the great post ..
I realize it is so valuable post .
Best of luck ..Carry on your own way..👍👍

Thank you..i will try☺

you are most welcome...
and you are so kindly dear @immarojas
i will wait for your next blog..
If you like my blog click on upvote button.

Here in Slovenia they are trying to get a Defibrillator to nearly every village. They are also teaching people how to use it, so they do the demonstrations of use, in schools, villages and in different events.

Can save a life..most places don't have defibrillators☺

" There is such a thing as ADRENALINE RUSH, where a mere man becomes SUPERMAN

You mean the patient or the one doing CPR? I heard about this. That after an accident people can go Superman (adrenaline rush) for a while before they collapse.

I meant..a mere ME can throw u away a sack of rice by a 100 yards.. or can be you🤣🤣🤣

hmm probably will be me im not that heavy :)

Oh definitely..my 48kg frame can toss you like a salad. easy peasy🤣🤣

haha ofcourse. But thats because im fly 😎

Have a good day there. :)

Yeah you do fly!

Ive read of people seeing the best part of their lives before their eyes before they collapsed.

unique blog, glad to meet you , following you and am learning things which is such a cool part of steem

Thank u..see you in #steemsugars😎😎

Nice post dear you are doing good I always wait for your post and I wish you best of Luck

Thank you so much! Hope you never need it.

Bananas = potassium :) 🍌

Before I watched the video I was going to say in my reply about Stayin' Alive. Ha ha ha ha..... good thing I watched it or I would have felt pretty dumb.

I've been trained in CPR. Never had to use it though.

It might come in handy...after a heart attack, we feed them bananas. Somehow, the supplements taste awefull🤣🤣

Bananas give me heartburn!! I would think I was having another heart attack 😳

Oh banana smoothie is nice, that gives u still? I think grapes have some potassium in them. Am goin to bed😙😙

Since I get chest pains only by reading about all that haha I'll focus on the happier part.... New Steemian on the block???? :D :D :D She definitely needs a hug! Followed !!! :D

Your colleague!!! :D

Oh ahahaha merçi beaucoup mon amie..needs mentoring still. am on it😙😙

These view of the goings on in your work posts are unusual and excellent. I don't always comment, but I always appreciate them!

Thank you..these are just intros of what to post in the future, a bit background for now and see if there are engagements to it. I plan to teach☺

That sounds really great! It's invaluable information and offering your perspective and experience along with it creates a rich post.

Thanks..that's the plan. Please let me know on what i can improve, add content-wise☺

nice post ... thats so awesome ..
i ealize it so much dear .... thats goood
carry on your activity...
best of luck

Thank you..best of luck to you too☺

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01