You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem School Episode 65 - How to Build a Relationship With Your Audience

Just wanted to say, with regards to women and depression, you helped me make final decision to come off antipressants that were making me more zombie than human, as by taking control of my life and concentrating on a path of self improvement in my life in every area, for the most part I've beaten depression, I still have the odd hour of abject misery at times, but I won't let it keep me down for the whole day that might have happened in past. So I think that advice applies to both men and women.

Sort:  

What helps me everytime i start to get depressed is cold showers, there have been studies that prove this, you should try it sometimes @hopehuggs, last time i was depressed was because of a girl leaving me + my grandfather died, this all happened like 1 or 2 days apart, everytime i started to get depressed i hopped in the shower and put the water cold... my problems faded away with the rage i got from those showers! Next time you start having one of those hours try this, it might be hard at first but after a while it's actually comfortable.
Cold showers also have a side benefit of turning your white fat cells into brown fat cells, which store less fat and are more for increasing your temperature, so they actually provide you with sliming benefits at a cellular level .

Yes, I did cold showers for a short while and got up to 4 minutes, and I felt regenerated (yes meant to use that word not rejuvinated) then not really done it since, I will get back into it, especially in down moments, or when kids won't stop screaming. Now there are three advocates of the cold shower: @teutonium, @valorforfreedom and @humanearl.

Even better: Go jogging very fast in nature and then take a cold shower, it's like rushing your brain with feel good drugs and then numbing your brain with cold water.

It really helps a fuckton, afterwards you will realize that your depression was just a super hard cocktail of feel bad drugs aka cortisol (the result of stressful events).

I also did that, running in nature is the best! And since i live in the countryside i have some cool spots to run, i very rarely see any person there, after 10-20 minutes of running i stop and i can scream as loud as i want, it's amazing!!! i can tell the whole world to go "fu## itself".
Another thing that helped me was my car, driving through the night alone, only the road me and my car, i could scream as loud as i wanted to, i sometimes rode all the way through the night, leaving the house at sunset and getting home at sunrise!
These are much better alternatives than the crap psychiatrist give... people have non- hereditary high cholesterol? go to the gym! People have non- hereditary diabetes? Go to the gym!! People have non- hereditary high blood pressure or depression? GO TO THE GYM!!!!! The weights are my enemy, and i hit them every single day, one of these days, not even the metal is going to withstand my grip and it will break apart!!

Great comment Helen, very open about yourself as well, you just practiced what I wrote in this post.
Depression is being stuck in a fucked up life situation for too long, one has to dig deep to find the answers, and they are not nice to hear.

Yes @hopehuggs, when we can control our life and focus on self improvement, we need not take antidepressants. Human brains always go to worst places where we are upset by somebody or something, it may happen any time in a day, but when we move over that moment in the day, we can win our life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61451.56
ETH 3442.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51