Creative Word Game for Rainy Days

in #steemiteducation7 years ago

...and long drives.

Ah yes, 'tis the season!
The season for rain, mud, dirt and soon-on-a-street-near-you snow. The season when the Sun kind of goes on vacation and stays there for a time. And while the Sun is having fun and...um...bathing, you're left here, sitting inside the house all day.

Well, despair not, for creativity – as always – shall see us through the winter.
d762d17cdf86d292223f7b96de826fcd.jpg
Image

The Definition Game

This is a seemingly simple game. It's your basic, word association game, but with a twist. It's no longer enough to just say words, now you have to define them.
Let me give you an example. I'll start by saying flower. I then have to explain what a flower is, but do my best to avoid the dictionary definition of the word 'flower'.

Flower = the blossom of a plant.

But I'm not going to say that, in game. I am going to define a flower by my own terms, by what it means to me.
Like:

Flower = a silent 'I'm sorry'
or
Flower = a symbol of love

I have to say whatever flower means to me. When you say/hear a word (any word), you automatically associate it with something, with a memory, a desire, a song, something.
Use that something to give your word a new definition, making it personal.
Then, the next person has to associate your word, or perhaps your definition, with another word. Again, it's not important that the words themselves be related. What matters is the connection in the person's head.

For example, I was playing this game yesterday. Someone said 'moment = forever'. My brain associated it with Alice in Wonderland, where the Rabbit tells Alice that forever can sometimes mean one second. So, I said 'rabbit'.
And so on.
flat,800x800,075,t.u1.jpg
Image

  • It's an excellent get-to-know-you game, because it lets you see how the other person thinks. Because, by making the definitions personal, they allow you s glimpse into their personal space, their memories, their life so far.
  • It's also a great way to unleash your creativity. All you have to do is allow your brain to wander. It's a game of free association – the first definition that comes to your head, no matter how absurd, is the right one, because it makes sense to you. The definitions are often wildly unexpected.
  • It's empowering. You don't have to play by anyone's rules. You have the power to invent words, to invest them with your stories.
  • It's a brilliant game to play with both adults and children. For adults, it's great, because it helps them lose their inhibitions to speak out loud about themselves.
    As for children, they are goldmines of creativity. They will give you wonderfully inventive definitions, because children fear silliness much less than adults. Besides, it's good for kids for all the reasons above.
    Teach them they have the power to create, to invent anything. Sky's the limit. And not even that.

It's a game I invented, while I was bored. I don't know if there are other versions out there. I don't mean to plagiarize anything. I just loved playing it and thought it was worth sharing.
Hope you enjoy!

And get creative!

Sort:  

Wow, I generally go to activities and play "never have I ever" but a clean version of it. This is how we get to know each other and find out more as each person stands up and then gives a story on what they have done if they have done something. It is generally fun, but I really want to try this game you have spoken of. It is a great way to pick a persons brain and find out how they think. Anyway I really enjoyed this post and will be trying it out. I will write a little post on my findings after trying this.

I'm curious to read your post and your opinion of the game. I suggest you tax people when they try to give banal definitions or try to give a synonym instead, it's what I do. If we settle for so little, it defeats the point.
Have fun!
Glad you enjoyed! :D

Nice idea! Yeah, this is a solid game concept, really, and I can see it working well in my family. We take some long road trips together, traveling between Austin and Denver a couple of times each year. I'm thinking my favorite aspect of this game idea is the fact that it exercises our creative thinking–I believe this type of "opening to new possibilities" is of utmost importance to every person here and now, as we enter the Creative Age. I'm following, upping, and resteeming.

It's a really fun game. I wasn't sure if it would be, but decided to go with it and it was really entertaining. Everbody loves a game, don't they?
I'm glad you liked it and hope it helps pass the time on your next trip.

Hi @honeydue, this is definitely something that can be fun for children...and adults too. Nice post! We appreciate your support and would enjoy seeing more creative ideas like this!

Thanks very much! I'm delighted you enjoyed it. I think so too ;)

People should play the game for his satisfy

Congratulations @honeydue! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62102.06
ETH 2415.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49