The Effects of Text Language On English Writing

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

"im gonna see u later. u shud cum tonite."

Okay, this sentence alarmed me!

As a tutor, I realize that recently perhaps due to the exposure to text languages, our students have been having difficulties with English words, especially with the spelling and usage of words when they are asked to do writing. It seems that it has become a serious problem because of the way we type on phones or on our casual chats when we started to use a lot of text languages.

photo-1485712207830-8a665e701494.jpg
Image Source

I mean, my English is not perfect, I still make (a lot of) spelling as well as grammatical errors and I am not asking for perfection from my students either. I am also not referring to accidental mistakes in typing or spelling, if we actually know the exact words to use but made an error. What I am concerned about is the prevalence of text languages have really confused them to think that the text languages can be used in official write-ups. Even with the auto-correct function of Microsoft Word and Grammarly, I see my students still ignoring the words that have the red lines underneath. I guess we are going through an "evolution", from the standard literacy way of writing to what some call "poor writing".

What Is Text Language?

tenor (7).gif
GIF Source

Text language is the casual way of writing, omitting the standard way of writing. It is also called "textese", a special type of register when we use our mobile phones to text or when we use any forms of digital communications such as even chatting online with a laptop. It is a more convenient way of writing, eliminating the importance of punctuation and correct spelling, inventing new abbreviations and often replacing expression of words with emojis. However, text language has become perhaps a threat to the Standard English language that has been established for thousands of years. It has caused an evident effect on the grammar as well as encouraged a lazy way of writing which has affected relationships. Because of convenience, sentences are shortened and the full expression of the message is not delivered, hence resulting in misunderstandings and even conflicts.

Here are some documentations and researches done on this matter:

“In other words, if you send your kid a lot of texts with word adaptations, then he or she will probably imitate it,” said S. Shyam Sundar, a Penn State communications professor who worked with Cingel. “These adaptations could affect their offline language skills that are important to language development and grammar skills, as well.”
In addition to a natural desire to imitate friends and family, the researchers speculated that some texting tweens made poor grammar choices in more formal writing because they had trouble switching between techspeak and the normal rules of grammar. Source

The Times Daily newspaper cites a recent report from Pew Internet and American Life Project, "Writing, Technology and Teens," which found that the cell phone text-based abbreviated communications teens use are showing up in more formal writing. Source

According to this article, nearly 16,000 thousand words have been stripped of their hyphens in recent dictionary versions: leap-frog has become leapfrog, make-over has become makeover, and post-modern has become postmodern, all because people are too lazy to reach for that one extra key. Source

Here are some confusions from students that I frequently encounter:

tenor (8).gif
GIF Source

  • Cannot differentiate between some words with homonyms or homophones

Homonyms are words that have the same spelling, sound the same but have more than one meaning. Examples of homonyms are like:

bear
tear
leaves
long

On the other hand, homophones are words with the same sound but different spelling and different meanings. Examples of homophones would be:

night and knight
deer and dear
bored and board
hear and here

Because they sound the same, it is common that we may mistake one for another. They are the common errors found in essay-writing.

  • Inappropriate Punctuation

There have been a great confusion in my students on punctuation ever since they got active in texting. I often see i instead of I. There is a boy whom I have to frequently correct on his capital letters at the beginning of a sentence, which I have lost my patience many times at it, sorry to say.

Usual problems are like the confusion between they're (the short for they are), their (possessive pronoun stating the belonging of things or people) and even the word there. They get confused with your and you're. You're is the short for you are when your is a possessive pronoun, indicating the belonging.

There is a difference between its and it's. It's is used when we are talking about an object or animal and this is a replacement pronoun for it, followed by the verb is. On the other hand, its is referring to the belonging and is a possessive pronoun for an object. Another error I commonly see is the usage of is in replacement of it's. I often see my student starts his sentence with is when it is a verb. It's is the short for it is which serves as a subject and a verb phrase, appropriate to be used to start a sentence.

The position of the apostrophe is very important and it can change a word instantly to a different word. IT'S NOT THE SAME!

  • Phonetic replacements and acronyms

Phonetic replacements are like:

ur instead of your
tonite instead of tonight
thru instead of through
gonna instead of going to

One of the most famous acronyms is the lol, which stands for laughing out loud, followed by the others such as tmr instead of tomorrow. LOL has been so widely used that the millennial even have created a pronunciation for it and it has become a common expression even in speaking. The thing that astonished me one day was I found the word LOL in some essays of my students. Seeing ur in their essays have been very frustrating for me and even with the amount of explanations I have given, I still see them.

  • Newly Invented Vocabularies

Words like amazeballs, YOLO, LMAO, ROFL, Omaigosh, so on and so forth are frequently used and some even successfully made their debut into the dictionaries such as the Oxford. They are so widely used that I think students and even we may think that these are official words. Thank God, I have not come across too much acronyms in my students' writing.

Should we do something about this issue? What can we do?

photo-1524646432175-d58115a8a854.jpg
Image Source

I am not a language expert or a linguist but I figure we have to do something about it before the whole originality of English is lost. I am not totally against text language because it does brings convenience but I think we should learn to keep it for texting and avoid using it in formal writing. I am thinking if this goes on, my children's generation will be using the "lazier" language that promotes convenience and may not know the authenticity of our language.

Here are some ways I can think of and have been doing:

  1. I have been re-encouraging my students to read books and practice their writing more. I guess it will take the un-learning and re-learning to return to the original proper way of writing with grammar and spelling intact. It may take a lot more effort now that text language has become quite a habit, even in me as a tutor or teacher. I have no decent or applicable measure to curb this issue yet but I think I will start by explaining the importance of the English language. Even for myself, practicing writing on Steemit and reading from the others deliberately have motivated me to write in Standard English, if not in great English.

  2. I have seen the school making some efforts by providing them with passages about the effects of text languages in learning as part of my students' reading comprehensions. It gives me an opportunity to ask them what they think. It starts off a train of thought for them to think if it is relevant to learn Standard English.

  3. I try to encourage writing in the topics of their interest. For instance, if I know my student has a favorite hobby during that time, I will ask him or her to write about it. If they are struggling through some problems, I too would encourage them to pen it down. It has not been easy to ask them to do writing especially most assignments are done by typing and online submission. I think the auto-correct perhaps have also weakened the command of the language.

  4. I try my best to avoid text language even when I am texting them. I would correct them when I see them use it too, at least when they are texting me. I may sound stern but I am trying to make them make a conscious effect to "switch".


I know we humans are really good at improvisation and innovations to ease life. I am not sure if we are already doing it at the expense of our rich literacy and heritage. As a person living in this era, we can be flowing along a subtle change without realizing it. There's a saying in Chinese that too much of a good thing may be a bad thing too. In my opinion, text language can be used, we just have to be aware and "switch" when we are writing for different purposes. However, this may not be a conscious awareness in the younger generation who are learning both the text and original language from scratch. Both may feel the same to them. There could be a day when the written language of our next generation becomes incomprehensible. I know the evolution of language happens since the days of old, which is how we arrive at the richness of the language. Are we going to go with the flow and let it be, letting the language to evolve by itself? This is the paradox of our age, the digital age.

What are your thoughts on this matter? If you have any other ideas on how to tackle this situation of text language affecting our command of English, do share with me your opinions. I think it is important that we are aware of this issue so we can preserve the English language. I wonder if you encounter the problem of text language in the other languages as well. Feel free to enlighten me!

List of References:

RoundPhoto_Feb152018_181213.png

81FB41B346924EE8233F0B6EC8D6624C2.gif

U5dtwrEWanaYvPSm2U9SjyrS9wcQH4t.gif

DQmepDz9DNUfgHYWZCABVYVEL9zjdbe9tnHWBXH2abTYx13.png

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

SB-Marvel-Family.gif
created by @zord189


Asapers.gif

20180516_002249_0001.png

Sort:  

I definitely agree with what you've said on this. The philosophy of convenience has a very dangerous undertone that I don't think we're properly acknowledging. Texting is one of the more overt ways that it is sort of seeping through the cracks. However, in regards to education it isn't all bad, look at YouTube for example and even this platform. The only way these two are possible is because of the culmination of the philosophy of convenience.

But, you cannot fix a problem without properly acknowledging there is one, and that's where I think the fundamental issue lies in the younger generation. I know a lot of people that text in a diluted fashion think it is fine, not even realizing the correlation between texting and their inability to produce quality writing. For me I often text in the same fashion as everyone else but I also write nearly every day, or read everyday, exercising the brain muscles you neglect by writing in the aforementioned way.

As for how to solve the issue though, I don't think it lies so much in the issue itself but more in why the issue exists in the first place. It's said that you are the average of the five people you spend the most time with, and although that isn't exactly relevant in this context, I'd like to think the same reason for that is the same reason people write poorly i.e. you are what you surround yourself with.

What I mean by that is, I think the issue is the lack of reading often done in schools, and mostly in people as a whole during the fundamental periods of development in school. When you surround yourself with diluted text and BuzzFeed articles with snippets of equally diluted information conveyed in the apropos watered down text, you never get a taste of the authentic writing that created the very ground on which we stand, kind of metaphorically speaking, kind of not. So perhaps a different approach is necessary for the recalcitrant students that cannot learn to capitalize their I's and beginnings of their sentences, because simply telling them it's wrong isn't as effective as showing them it is. I was reading as early as I could, around 3 or so. Then I took it upon myself in the early grades of elementary to do it myself, and from then on I've always tried to surround myself in quality writing, so my standards don't degenerate. But it would be very hard to hold myself to a standard I didn't full grasp, or wasn't fully articulated, so maybe reading could help counteract the devolution of our literary abilities as a whole.

At least that's my take on it! Really enjoyed your article. :)

I get all these when i mark assignments and exam papers too. It's annoying because it's rampant. Up till today, I'm not able to come up with any solution for my students apart from reminding them and encouraging them to read.

Congratulations, Your content have been chosen as ''The Most Jumbo Posts of the Day''

Your article have been upvoted by Jumbot and Jumbot's curation trail



What is Jumbot?

Jumbot is a set up to support content creators.

For More Information About Jumbot

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Do checkout other posts made by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/created/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

After reading your post I'm able to realize how much dependent I'm on MS word and Grammarly. When the first mobile text revolution started I used to hate people who use half text and send a message. I used to think why can't these people type the full word and send. But gradually the virus spreads a lot and most of the people here are comfortable using short words. I don't think we will be able to do anything about it.

Maybe one possible solution is to make them well versed in grammar in the young age itself.

Yeah I do believe in the measures you suggested @happycrazycon and the great role have to be played by tutors, the fact that messages(SMS:short message) have to be short have brought these confusions and now that have gone so far!

Thank you for your suggestions I think they can change something!

Sitting closer to view the grammer ineffectiveness in our schooling system today, yoh find out that most of the student have taken the social media to be there front deck leaving the studing time to rest. Cos they believe in the grace of malpratices.

I think I still struggle with texting. Where people place TQ I still make it a point to type it out. Though, when we are trying to zip around through the day, these abbreviations do help get a long list of pending communications screaming for your attention out of the way.

With the younger generation however, it is very concerning. It is not just their writing, it is their entire capacity to focus and think. The millennials are nothing compared to the generation that is coming up next. It is a bizarre phenomenon where mental capacity may actually be shrinking due to the screen time and our the perpetuation of bite sized info. Don't make video's longer than 3 minutes. Don't write blogs longer than 2000 words, or better yet - twitter - my goodness. It is great that we have arrived at a communication at the Haiku frontier - but the effect it has on the development of this generation worries me.

Excellent class today's friend, God bless you always.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64143.39
ETH 2638.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80