Hey you, sit up straight!

in #steemiteducation7 years ago

Source

Over the last few weeks, I've spent a lot of my time sitting down.  I am not actually used to sitting down as much, as at work, we normally move around quite a lot.  We carry heavy objects and do actual physical labor but lately as our plant is not running as much, we only monitor the machinery from the inside.  


I now understand why gamers chooses the most comfortable chairs and tables because I now realize how hard a chair can get when you sit on it the whole day.  My back hurts, my bum hurts, my thighs get numb and it's just ridiculously uncomfortable overall. 


This reminded me of a little thing called "Ergonomics" which I have learned about years ago but didn't really interest me:

Source


It sounds like a really simple thing but I now finally understand why this simple thing exists. 


To lessen the stress of normal day-to-day tasks around the office, home or even school, there are adjustments that we can make with regards to sitting, bending, carrying, writing, etc. as our posture while doing it can be the biggest stressor of them all.

Simply said:

Definition of ergonomics
1 :an applied science concerned with designing and arranging things people use so that the people and things interact most efficiently and safely — called also biotechnology, human engineering, human factors
2 :the design characteristics of an object resulting especially from the application of the science of ergonomics

Source

Source

It feels kind of funny at first and I imagine looking like an idiot while doing it, but once you get used to it, it's actually refreshing and energizing.  I remember how we used to slouch on those very hard chairs in school and come to think of it, it was those damn chairs that made us so lazy!

Source

I realize that it's not always possible to keep everyone happy.  Some people are short and some are tall, but at least you can adjust your own workstation to fit you personally, and this is how:

Source

Sort:  

I always try to focus on this, however when you are concentrating you tend not to do it, thank you for reminding me

Congratulations @ghostgtr! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received
Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

still work in the school as a para.

My teacher and her interventionist both have comfy chairs and im sitting with those hard backs like the kids ahaha. She's lucky I love her. But serioously great post. Great topic to touch on I could relate to it right after work today so I had to resteem.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ghostgtr from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.78 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61153.73
ETH 3403.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51