You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Elementary School Is Setting Students Up To Fail At Math

in #steemiteducation7 years ago

I agree completely, @marxrab! I'm not raising kids anymore... I'm a grandfather of 4 little ones, ages 2 - 5. I see how intelligent our grandkids are and wonder about the type of education they'll get in school. This common core stuff is just crap! My daughters know it and (I think) intend to try and get their kids into Montessori school programs. I don't know if they have the same math format as the public schools or not. Hopefull not!

For many parents, homeschooling is not an option. Especially if your work hours don't match up with the kids expected daytime school hours. But if you can arrange it, and are able, I think you're doing your children a great service by homeschooling. Best of luck with your circumstances. I hope to hear more about this from you!

Sort:  

Thanks for the great comment. Both my husband and I are getting our doctorates and plan on working for colleges in some form (teachers or administrative staff.) I feel like we'd be good at homeschooling and I hope when my daughter is old enough for school we can homeschool her at least to start her off.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59583.90
ETH 2578.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48