Exhausted By UnpredictablesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemiteducation5 years ago (edited)

It is the second day of school.

I am already hoping for another school holiday soon.

Being a teacher is definitely a meaningful job but it is also a mentally and physically demanding job especially when we need to handle an extremely difficult class that we do not know when the next fight would happen.


Image Source

I am praying daily that things go smoothly for me and I need to trust God each day that I can teach the students that are placed under me.

19 years of teaching

I have been teaching for 19 years and it is definitely not a short journey.


Image Source

I started out as a teacher who would often shout to maintain discipline to my present soft approach of talking to my pupils with respect to advise them to behave better like a big brother.

I do agree that students were more respectful when I first started teaching.

In this age, students are often rude and they can even shout and scream when they are not happy with things.


Image Source

Teachers are not allowed to use any sort of punishment even asking them to stand is not allowed.

We have to ensure our lessons are fun enough to engage our students and we may often feel like a servant to our students rather than teachers.

We need to look into so many things that even parents may not bother.

Tired and Exhausted

We may often feel tired and we may also be talking for the whole day in class.

With so much talking, it is common that we talk lesser at home with our spouse and children.

We are often sleeping only for a few hours daily since we have marking and lots of administrative work to complete.


Image Source

Those who are not teachers may think that we are only working for those few hours in our classes.

In reality, I wake up daily at about 4.45 am and I may only return home at about 6 p.m. or even later.

We may have used up our mental and physical energy by the time we get home.

Unpredictable Class

Since I am teaching a challenging class this year, there are often fights and arguments due to small matters.

I have to pull away a student from getting into a fight today.

I even have a student who has skipped my lesson because of her own emotional issue today.


Image Source

To top up all these, I have students who have not attended my additional support lesson after school as they choose to play basketball instead.

I guess these students are not very appreciative to the things that teachers are trying to do but giving up is not an option.

I have to inform parents about students who have not attended my extra lesson since I am still accountable for their attendance and safety.

Just another day

I guess every occupation has its challenges.

As an educator, we cannot simply give up on helping our students even if they have no desire to learn.

A day of a teacher may not be always sunny but the difficult ones can often be the ones who would appreciate us many years down the road as they recall that there are teachers who have never given up on them.


Image Source

Even if we cannot impact them now, we have become a fragment of their memory as someone who has tried to impact their lives with education.

We cannot change the world with our hands but we can try to change each student one at a time when we have a chance to do so.


Image Source



Disclaimer: This is my personal reflection and I am not in any position to instruct anyone what they should do. I am not responsible for any action taken as a result of this post. My post can only be a reference for your further research and growth. By reading this post, you acknowledge and accept that. All images and pictures were taken from google images that are free from copyright under labelled for reuse.

Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://fun2learn.vornix.blog/2019/03/26/exhausted-by-unpredictable/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60244.17
ETH 2333.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47