Chinese Language

in #steemiteducation5 years ago (edited)

In my country, our schools support bilingualism.

Each student would need to take up English as the first language with their Mother Tongue Language like Chinese, Malay, Tamil etc as the second language beside all the academic subjects being taught in English.


Image Source

In general, our students use English more than their Mother Tongue Language. They are also strongly influenced by the western culture greatly.

This result in many of them dislike their own Mother Tongue Language even though it is their original home language.


Image Source

This short post is just to share a bit about the Chinese Language.

Most of my Chinese students do not like Chinese Language nowadays. They find it hard to learn the Chinese characters and some even give up learning with failing grades for this language.

As Chinese, we would logically think they should master their own Mother Tongue Language but most of them feel that English is much more easier to master since English is being used for all subjects so it is naturally more important.

Regardless of the Mother Tongue Language, it is important to master their own roots.

The late founder of Singapore, Mr Lee Kuan Yew, continued to learn Chinese even in his old age.

I have collated some interesting videoclips about Chinese Language below.

This is a very fun videoclip about some American-born Chinese tried to communicate with their parents in Chinese.

Video Source

Introducing what Chinese is about by Paul at Langfocus channel.

Video Source

Introducing Chinese Characters as pictographs.

Video Source

A story about how old scholar found out about the Ancient Chinese pronunciation.

Video Source

I hope you like this short post and feel inspired to discover your own root.

 



Disclaimer: This is my personal reflection and I am not in any position to instruct anyone what they should do. I am not responsible for any action taken as a result of this post. My post can only be a reference for your further research and growth. By reading this post, you acknowledge and accept that. All images and pictures were taken from google images that are free from copyright under labelled for reuse.

This article was first published on my blog at Weku


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://fun2learn.vornix.blog/2019/05/20/chinese-language/

Sort:  

Congratulations! I just stopped by to say that your post has been selected as a daily Featured Post of my personal curation project! You can find the daily Featured Post HERE.
I upvoted your contribution and I put it on the list because to my mind your post is what I call a quality content!
I am @miti, a manual curator that shall make available all his Steem Power to authors deserving of support. Let's make STEEM great again!
Have a nice day and keep up the good work!

Thank you for your effort in curating articles and including my articles in your daily featured post.

You're welcome.. I'd say you earned it. ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66779.99
ETH 3503.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70