You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How I'm Winterizing My Duck Pen and House

Good idea with the heat lamp! My grandfather used to rase chickens in northern Michigan and actually had a wood-fired furnace in their huge chicken house. Hitting a switch seems much more convenient than traipsing through the snow to stoke the fire.

How's the bubble wrapping coming along?

Sort:  

I'd be terrified I'd catch the little critters on fire with a wood furnace! There are so many different things people say about ducks I don't know what to believe. I set up a camera in their pen so I can watch them on my phone while my husband and I go on a trip this week. Reese's Pieces was sleeping in their pool in 30 degree weather! Many say ducks are cold hardy and fine until the 20s but now I'm seeing people say they are fine without heat into the negative digits. Hopefully a tiny heat lamp will be enough.

November is such a crazy month. It's my busiest of the year so my winterproofing is slow. I'm shooting for defending my dissertation in March! I've got writing to do before Thanksgiving. At least popping the bubble wrap is good for stress.

My aunt in Brookings, SD has ducks. I can ask her about how she winters them, but a response might take awhile...

It sounds like we'll be in the same boat, then. I've got to defend my capstone project in March. Hopefully I can make some progress on it over Thanksgiving...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68363.69
ETH 2642.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69