Get More Nutrition - Weight Loss Coaching by fitinfun

in #steemiteducation5 years ago (edited)

Improve your diet add nutrition food fitinfun.jpg

If you are obese or overweight, you are most likely not getting enough nutrition in your diet. My weight loss coaching puts nutrition front and center. Let’s get started doing better with your food choices now.

What are Essential Nutrients?

Here is a graphic of the essential nutrients from a site I love called World’s Healthiest Foods.

essential nutrients.PNG

If you get the optimum amount of all of these things each day, you will be well on your way to health. This graphic is a starting point. But holy cow, this is intimidating! How are you going to figure it out?

We’re taking small steps, consistently over time, and you will not even feel any pain. Instead your body is going to spring to life!

Adding Essential Nutrients

The steps to add these wonderful substances to your life are these:

  • Pick a nutrient to tackle
  • Find out how to get it in your food
  • Find out out how NOT to get it in your body
  • Start eating the good sources 5-7 times a week
  • Create the habit of eating the new substance
  • Continue the new habit
  • Move on to the next habit

Vitamin C – Our first nutrient

Let’s start with Vitamin C. Here is a graphic of good sources for it from Wellness News at Weighing Success: April 2012, but this same graphic is all over the internet and seems to be stolen from elsewhere.

Vitamin C Sources.PNG

Pick a nutrient to tackle

VITAMIN C - We are starting here because Vitamin C is an easy nutrient to get.

Find out how to get it in your food

Pick some of the items above and add them to your current diet

Find out out how NOT to get it in your body

Make sure you are getting healthy sources. Do not take supplements if you can help it. Do not eat any foods that are on the “dirty dozen” list unless you go organic or locally grown and know to be “clean.” For example, potatoes are the "most sprayed" food in America. Fast food french fries are not a good source!

Start eating the good sources 5-7 times a week

Figure out how to add the new foods to your diet. For example:

  • squeeze lemon or lime on any other food
  • Eat a kiwi fruit each day
  • Add cabbage and radishes to your soup, salad, or stir fry
Create the habit of eating the new substance

Now you need to develop this habit.

  • Put Vitamin C at the top of your thoughts and keep it there.
  • Use your weight loss journal and record how you are doing.
  • Be kind to yourself. Habits take 30 days to take hold.
  • If you fall down today, get back on track tomorrow.
Continue the new habit

Keep going and do not give up. Keep this list of foods with you and make sure you always have one or more of them ready to eat.

Move on to the next habit

Coming soon! I will post the next nutrient in a few days. I hope you will be well on your way with this one and will let me know how it is going.

Objections you may have

Please tell me any negative thoughts you have about this idea. Most of this thoughts fall under the categoriy of excuses for not losing weight. Here are a few I've heard from previous coaching clients and my rebuttals:

I would rather just take a pill and not worry about getting nutrients in my food.

Supplements are often not absorbed properly in our bodies. I do not know of any I can recommend. My goal is to get you eating real food that fuels your body and this is an easy place to start.

Who says we need these nutrients? Show me scientific studies.

Do you have any studies about the garbage you are eating now and why it made you fat? I can get studies for you, but this would be a needless distraction to the efforts your are making now.

Tell me exactly how much Vitamin C I need each day so I can track it.

You need way more than you are getting and this small effort is probably not enough. Once we get you going on a few of these nutrients, we will find the best trackers for you if your really want to count at that point.

I hate every single food on this list and won’t eat any of them

Let’s look again and see if we can find ways to incorporate them without problems. If this is your sticking point, we need to work hard to start somewhere. Your tastes will change before you know it, but you have to give it a chance.

I heard Vitamin C will kill you

Anything will kill you in huge quantities. You are not going to eat huge quantities of Vitamin C and this plan is unlikely to be your cause of death.

This is not enough effort. I need quick results.

You are obese. You did not get this way in one day, and you have not lost weight with any other method. Try this idea and lets keep going. In a few short weeks and months, you will see results if you stay committed.

The outline of my weight loss program for you includes these topics:

  • Overcoming excuses
  • What are you eating now?
  • Winning the Food Fight
  • Exercise Effectively
  • Clean up the rest of your life
  • Rest, recover, regroup
  • Becoming the new you

Today we started tackling the food fight and we will be continuing from here.

I have already written a whole book about weight loss excuses and I highly recommend it. You can take a look at Chapter One for free and see if it might be helpful for your efforts.

steemitedu logo 2.png

My post today is for the steemiteducation tag. This is a great place to teach others what you know. Go on over to the @steemiteducation blog, follow directions, and start posting there too. We want to learn from you!

If you would like individual and private weight loss coaching, I can help you. Contact me and lets get this party started!
fitinfun You can do it if I did! sharon before and after.jpg

Sort:  

Howdy again tonight fitinfun! haha I like those rebuttals! Not that they're funny but they sound like typical excuses, this post is very educational!

Thank you very much. I try not to be boring or mean about it. I want people to just get going with it!

oh well shoot, don't worry about it being mean or boring with those posts because in my mind it's the perfect way to approach it and I know people have to appreciate the honesty.

Check out my recent post about holiday weight gain and see the comment I got about water causing weight gain. This is what I am up against and I have had this comment many times in the last years.

howdy this fine Thursday fitinfun! Well, it's cold and rainy out but at least it's not snowing. Anyway I'll go over there directly and see what it says, thanks! If everyone would just listen to you and do what you say the world would be a much better, healthier place!

That's what I say! I hope that soon the crowds will arrive :)

me too, they need to!

A-B-C of vitamins, I had a similar list on my fridge for years, actually nice to see they still do the rounds as a reminder on good stable intake in foods we consume.

I had no idea how important this is until I lost weight. It was so exciting to focus on a nutrient and get results I could feel almost instantly. Who knew?!

I like potato chips - just kidding :-)

Chips are one of my downfalls, for sure and I have to avoid them!

No excuses. Lime in hot water with honey on empty stomach in the early morning is a great combination to reduce fat in our body.

There you go! Great idea and, it perks you up too!

Yes, we should care more about healthy nutrition. Especially now at the winter, we need more balanced diet here. very educational article

Thank you very much. I hope you will get your Vitamin C now :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by fitinfun from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @fitinfun ! You received a 21% upvote from @kryptoniabot & @kryptonia for your task of 500 SUP Today.

Remember to receive votes from @kryptoniabot

Run a task on Kryptonia.*Join free here Kryptonia Account
Use the tags KRYPTONIA or SUPERIORCOIN in your Steemit post.

Delegate to the Kryptonia Upvote by clicking links: 10SP , 50SP , 100SP , 500SP , 1000SP

Due to an increased amount of tasks, we have changed up the voting power to evenly spread out the Upvote amount.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00