My soft spot for troublemakers, a comment that became a post.


Source Edited using Canva

My soft spot for troublemakers

This post started out as a comment on this great entry: Convincing a principal of a boy's giftedness was fruitless by @angiemitchell. I felt it was getting a bit longer than the average reply, so I decided to post it separately. I believe this is a very important topic, that we should keep addressing.

I've always have this "soft spot" with the «troublemakers». I know, I just used that word, but the truth is I hate labeling, especially kids, so early in life.

I remember one of my first experiences, as a substitute music teacher at a public school. One of the teachers was introducing me to the 1st grade classroom, and I remember her telling me "those two back there.... don't even bother, they are a lost cause". She said it out loud, for the whole class to hear. And I was shocked! I mean, how can she declare "lost cause"on a couple of first graders? They are still babies for that matter! And why on earth is she saying it in front of them? I decided to reply something like this "Oh, l don't know them yet, just let me find out myself".

From that moment on, I don't trust anyone's opinion about anyone else, you know, when friends tell you at college "oh, I didn't like that professor, don't take his class", or "my son did good with this teacher, you should try to take your son with her", or "that dentist is so kind". Most of the times I wont let spoilers go ahead. But if I can't stop them soon enough, I just choose not to listen to what they have to say.
I believe teachers are not supposed to label kids. If anything we should unlabel them and teach them they can become the best version of themselves. When a kid shows a «naughty» behavior, all I see is a child in need. I imagine them feeling hopeless, unable to analyze their situation, acting in radical ways, to try to find some sense, or at least some help. Something must be happening inside those little hearts & minds (or homes) that I am not aware of, and therefore, I cannot understand. They are not adults. Yes they disturb our classroom's peace, but they are there to be guided, since they aren't final products for us to judge/hate. They are working projects for us to help building.

But not all teachers are aware of their guidance responsibility. @angiemitchell's article shows that a kid can go through 6 grades both labeled and unreferred for guidance assessment, and even then, a principal might ignore the professional advice. So sometimes teachers are the lost causes. But there is hope. I think true teachers outnumber bad ones. And many of them are here, reading this and trying to write their own experiences to make a difference. We have our failures, but we keep fighting the everyday battles.

One thing I do to help these kids, is finding one skill, one aspect of their process they are good at, (at least one) and I encourage it, I highlight it in front of the class, I tell the parents, for them to be proud. It immediately changes the perception and the kid is now seen through much kinder eyes, by the parents, classmates, other teachers...even themselves. The teacher is now seen as an ally, so the kid doesn't need to antagonize, they don't feel attacked, therefore, they don't need to be defensive or aggressive (and this goes for everyone implied).

When teachers reach this ground, they have good power to change the game. Sometimes it takes more time than expected, but it's worth the effort.
A few years ago, I read about some experiment in which they took the worst class, the group of troublemakers but they told the new teacher they were the creme de la creme, top students, best class in school. Apparently it worked well, and the results were stunning. I believe it makes sense. If you think you have the smartest kids, you will always try to be prepared for smart questions, you'll think your influence will matter because they will be good enough to use what you have to offer, you will feel you are a great teacher and act like one. So IF we are to do any labeling... I would prefer this kind.

This is the kind of power we should seek for and and use wisely.

@empathetic

steemiteducation.png

20180516_002249_0001.png

Sort:  

I love your attitude. A good.....make that decent teacher/human being always finds something good in a student. You inspire me to blog such an example in my own teaching life.
Sadly that one student can make it extremely difficult to teach the rest of the class. So many skills are necessary.
Keep up the good work and keep on making a difference.

Your post has been selected as #adsactlyspostoftheday :)

Join us in our Discord channel here to drop your post in our post promotion page, and make sure to use the @adsactly tag in the post itself.

DQmd5CQG5zLjjm2z8289qcLU6eBHJpC5FmgtR3aC1eXnhsi.png

Oh my! Thanks a lot!

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm sure glad there were a few teachers around like you. That had a soft spot for the 'troublemakers'. I'm just sayin'

Love this! So refreshing to see and so helpful and practical :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you very much for your kind words and for resteeming! I appreciate it

Posted using Partiko Android

No worries it’s something I agree with and love to hear about

Posted using Partiko iOS

Muchas gracias amigos, mis respetos y cariños a todos los maestros de nuestro país donde quiera que se encuentren. Que puedan seguir su labor con las virtudes que nos caracterizan

Posted using Partiko Android

Can you be my kids teacher? lol. Recently I have been talking to a few people about how to deal with teachers that are over working the kids and following the curriculum but also adding to it on the grade 2 children. So far my son is not taking this extra work load too well and is overwhelmed. He is learning to not like school and has hard breakdowns when trying to do his homework. Just this morning before going to school, he said "I hate my life." He is only 7 years old.
I think it is very important to tell the kids their qualities and what makes them special to help them continue and be happy with this learning path. Good for you for being one of those teachers. We need more of them like you <3

Thank you, I appreciate your comment. So, if the teachers don't do it for your kid, then you do it! you keep doing it...tell him what he is good at, become that voice inside him that reminds him that he is loved, even when he feels like he hates his life....So young, I know. Keep up the good parenting..

Posted using Partiko Android

Absolutely! The right encouragement with added love brings light to their every day busy schedules. But alas I am not there with them all day. Perhaps little messages in their lunch boxes to remind them might help ^_^

Hi @empathetic, my sincere for this incredibly late reply, I only found it when looking through old posts. I want to say how much I enjoyed your posts and your ability to see kids as they really are, just on a journey of learning and developing who need understanding and guidance. "Naughty" kids only go of the rails when adults have a a place to play in it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14