Learning How To Manage Our Time

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

img.png

Time is the most valuable asset because we can never get it back. Entrepreneurs and other people in diverse fields always remind us to get the most of our time. Since we all care about the future, we live in the present and we take good care of it by being productive with our time so that we can reap the reward in the future.

Managing our time has always been difficult. It requires a lot of discipline and courage to hold on our priorities. There are many distractions around us that deviate our attention. This distraction also leads us to lethargic actions which commonly result in procrastination.

Procrastination is our enemy because even when we are having fun, we cut it out in the middle of our joyful moment. Moreover, we sometimes make up excuses and justify procrastination.

separator.png

Time to be productive

Be productive is the most important thing. Sometimes people are reprimanded because they attend to an event late. But these people can be more productive than others that usually arrive on time. I am not excusing people that don't try to be responsible and arrive on time if they promise to. But there are cases when someone who arrives on time practically does nothing while other are highly productive.

This can be seen in education. Some students get to class on time. But they don't show the will to work while other students might arrive five minutes late and contribute a lot. They could even spend fifteen minutes in class and offer real value to the group.

Sadly the problem here is the perception. Students get praised for arriving on time, which is important, but such importance vanishes if there's no contribution at all.

separator.png

Time to spare

There are moments of pleasure. Those moments when we do what we love the most. Naturally, we can enjoy every minute of our work, but most people have different hobbies. And the best time to practice them is through our spare time.

Thereby, when we're having fun, we need to forget about other unrelated things that cover part of life. This is the time to disconnect as some people say. We all need it because we should filter out all that stress that we amass every day.

So, it is highly imperative to do what we love. And at the same time we have to be determined about not extending that time because we have other priorities.

separator.png

Controlling our time

One of the things that I've observed is that people get controlled by time. Though this may sound a little contradictory because in a way we are at the mercy of time, we can plan our days so that time doesn't dictate our living.

I've seen people constantly checking on the clock or always running because time is above them with a leash guiding them as if they were a horse. That's where you realize that you're a prisoner of time.

And in order to break free, you need to plan in advance what you will do every day so that you can be head of time. This takes pressure off your shoulders, and most importantly you don't feel as if you were always get carried all around.

@edave

Thumbnail: Source

separator.png

eco.png

separator.png

steemiteducation.png

separator.png

adsactly.png

Sort:  

Time planning is such a critical skill to learn for anyone. Part of this is not only planning, but being able to effectively triage all the unexpected turns that real life ends up throwing at your plans!

I have featured you and this post for a Curation Contest here:

https://steemit.com/curation/@bengy/payitforwardentry-week31-7yznrjonrg

You can also join the fun here:

https://steemit.com/payitforward/@pifc/week-31-pay-it-forward-curation-contest-5c376312a3397est

I've seen people constantly checking on the clock or always running because time is above them with a leash guiding them as if they were a horse. That's where you realize that you're a prisoner of time.

couldn't agree more, but sometimes.. people keep looking at the clock because they're so bored. I always a person with bad time management because I have a bad habit on postponing and delay anything, depending on my mood. but lately I found out that times has flies when I spent more time on Steemit and steemmonsters, LOL.

thanks for sharing @edave, found your post through @bengy entry post in the pay it forward contest this week. I don't want to miss any chance to have fun on Steemit and enjoy my life, so this post just like a knock on my head, to re-organized my schedules.

Time management is such a juggling act. Seem like there is always more and more to do. You had some good advice.
I came over because of the feature by @bengy for the pay it forward curation contest,

Great post @edave. So sorry I didn't get to it sooner to upvote it. All very valid and true points. I admit I am horrible at taking the time for me. I have been wanting to paint for the past month now. I have a few techniques I want to try, I have everything taped off since I did a minor location change for more room and there it sits.

I come home, make dinner, shower (I get very dirty at work) clean up a few things and then usually to bed. I know I just have to do it, but I know I'll be hard on myself if something doesn't get done. Like this, I am at least 3 days behind on my Steemit duties. This is a great reminder to keep your focus.

You were featured by @bengy for week 31 of @pifc's Pay It Forward Curation Contest. Please take a moment to see what we do. We'd love to have you join in at least from time to time to help show off undervalued talent.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64460.09
ETH 3150.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54