Give your kids a culture of Reading

in #steemiteducation6 years ago

20369601_10213647270764739_1873164417737451204_o.jpg.jpg
My uncle had a library in his house and i would spend hours perusing through his books on Agriculture. When i finished looking at all the pictures, i read the captions, then i began to read the books. Occassionally, i would come accross fiction scattered here and there.
But that was the foundation for me. I realized that life as a child was not just about playing with friends, going to school and watching cartoons. Those books made me think, made me realize that so much knowledge is out there, hidden in books, new and unforgettable worlds left unexplored.
I was blessed to be introduced to books early in life.
Introduce your kids to books. My uncle's library was also his study. He had maps of the world, a type writer, a table and desk for us to sit in and read, do assignments, etc. He would buy newspapers and we would read them together. Of course, i only read cartoons and stories inside. When i finished with Punch, we'd exchange papers and continue. I looked forward to his coming home from work. I would have new things to read.
The world is digital yes but remember that if your kids and if you must survive and be updated in your career, you must read. If your kids see that reading is important to you, they will imbibe that culture.
Taking them to the cinema is good. Apart from television, let books entertain them. Expose them to all genres. It mustn't only be children's literature. Sometimes, they should read books on your career.
In this world, if you are not informed, you can't move forward. What are the latest bestsellers on the New York Times? Some pretty popular self help books out there like Who Moved My Cheese, Eat that Frog, are out there. Chimamanda's books are out there.
Your daughters should be reading books on women by powerful speakers and preachers out there. Your sons too should be reading books that would develop their character and open their eyes to businesses and opportunities out there. If they want, you can discuss these books with them and guide them.
Kids are intelligent. They are more than just cartoons, playtime, and school.

Sort:  

This is so true. The value of reading to a child cannot be overemphasized.

"The single biggest predictor of high academic achievement and high ACT scores is reading to children. Not flash cards, not workbooks, not fancy preschools, not blinking toys or computers, but Mom or Dad taking the time every day or night (or both!) to sit and read them wonderful books." - Alicia Bayer

I sincerely agree with you @emily3817,i think our society is gradually deviating from this values.

@donkelly this couldn't be more accurate!
I was only 3,5 years old when I started insisting that I want to learn English (there was a course in our kindergarten) and with that, I also learned how to read.
I haven't stopped reading since and I'm incredibly lucky that my parents encouraged reading a lot more than cartoons and things like that.
I always buy books as presents and try to get kids excited about reading!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44