You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Can teachers teach with mother tongue in the classroom?

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

Very good points made here. I am not in education but I have some experience with language dialects. My family is from Southern Italy and speak a version of Italian called Barese. My wifes family is from Tuscany and speak Toscano. The differences in the dialects are enough to make communication difficult. Many dialects in Italy are in danger of extinction, yet students are encouraged to learn English, the lingua franca of the world in 2018. Regional dialects are vanishing everywhere, yet it seems to be something nobody cares about conserving.

Sort:  

That's what I'm worried about. The mother tongue or regional language has a strong character. Mother tongue even plays a role in the formation of our national language.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63570.02
ETH 3400.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56