Home Schooling And Unschooling; an Adult Retrospective, Part I: The Background

This being a community that often centers around alternatives and freedom, we hear quite a lot about "unschooling" and "home schooling" here on Steemit. In a sense, it seems to walk hand in hand with the whole idea of anarchism and generally thinking outside the proverbial box.

Lighthouse
Lighthouse

Of course, we hear lots of stories about the children and the approaches and various challenges involved in alternative education. What we don't hear so much about is the lives of those who grew up with alternative schooling... from the perspective of being adults with years of life experience and hindsight.

One might say "but why bother?" to which I'd respond that we should "bother" because perhaps hearing from someone about the way their life turned out-- 25 years "after the fact"-- could be a useful teaching tool, in and of itself-- both in terms of where unschooling succeeded, and where it failed.

So, in somewhat of a departure from my usual fare, I thought I'd talk a bit about how life turned out... through the eyes of a 57-year old.

A Bit of Background

I grew up with what can best be described as "mixed schooling."

Waterlily
Pink waterlily

My parents were basically "global nomads" in some ways, which meant we often moved from country to country, even though the answer to "where is home?" was routinely "Denmark" till I was 13 years old. Subsequently, Spain was home (13-16), the UK was home (16-18), then Denmark/Spain was home again (18-20).

When I say "mixed schooling," I mean the following: I was actually enrolled in regular schools in Denmark for the first five years of school-- BUT most of the time I wasn't actually there. I also went to boarding school in the UK when I was 16, for a couple of years. In between, my mother "somewhat" taught me by a curriculum, but I think she just "got tired of it" and let me switch to "figuring things out on my own," with fairly minimal supervision.

Let us keep in mind that much of this happened during the later 1960's and earlier 1970's, before there were a lot of standardized testing and regulations to follow.

Of relevance to this story, I will also add that I am very much an introvert by inherent personality, so spending days and weeks without social contact as a kid never felt like a "hardship" to me.  That most likely would not apply to everyone.

Understanding my Parents' Reasoning

I think it's also relevant to understand my parents' choices and motivation, in terms of my schooling.

RedLeaf
Detail of an autumn leaf

There is no doubt I was a "bright spark" as a kid, and my parents' interest in teaching me probably started when I was three or so, already bilingual (English/Danish) and showing an interest in wanting to read. So it was a conscious decision on their behalf to start "schooling" me (essentially reading, numbers and geography/nature) long before I was of school age.

That said, my parents were actually somewhat conventional in the sense that they had no interest in "home schooling" or "unschooling" as any kind of social statement or rebellion against anything. These approaches were simply the only thing that "made sense," given their travelling lifestyle. 

In other words, my schooling was the way it was, purely "as a matter of logistics and convenience." My dad's job involved a lot of moving around, and in later years the moving around was also related to "tax avoidance."

Schooling, Supervision and Mental Health

Waterlily
White waterlily

I think it should also be said that my dad worked his "version" of a corporate job, albeit spread out across a dozen countries we made our way through. Which often meant that he had relatively little time to be an active participant in my education... with the exception of being eternally patient in teaching me anything I wanted to know about the geography and nature of the various places we lived. He also started teaching me about money and financial systems when I was maybe eight years old.

To the degree there was "teaching," it fell to my mother. I would have to say that she was "somewhat interested" during my earliest years of learning, but as I approached about 9-10 years of age, she sank further and further into a cloud of depression, alcohol and prescription drugs, and became what one might call an "absent/unreliable parent."

Books, however, were my friends (and "babysitters!") and I would have to say that my parents-- jointly-- did an admirable job of finding me and supplying me with interesting reading material that taught me about the world around us.

As a Child...

Leaves
Autumn Leaves

... I was typically quiet and withdrawn. I mentioned earlier that I was (and am) very much an introvert; however, I also lacked much of the curiosity, inquisitiveness and motivation of most young children. 

If my mom sat me down on a chair as a 4-year old and went off to do something, she could come back two hours later and I'd still be sitting on that chair, looking into space. From hearsay and family lore, I am told it was almost as if it didn't even occur to me to go anywhere else. Although my own memories are somewhat sketchy, it seemed like what was going on inside my own head was always far more interesting than anything happening in the outer world around me.

I bring this up because I needed considerable "intervention" and encouragement to start moving around and exploring. I wasn't particularly shy, I just had a docile temperament and liked being my myself, pretty much keeping to "low stimulation" activities.

About This Article Series

After starting to write this story (or "mini memoir"), I quickly determined that it would become far too long for a single post/article.

Koi
Koi pond

Thus, I decided it would be best to break it into four parts, which I will release on a daily basis, over the next four days. Part 1 is intended to offer a bit of a background view, mostly because my education wasn't exactly "boilerplate" anything, and I was hoping to present an account people could put in perspective. Part 2 (tomorrow) will look at what I retrospectively would consider the life benefits I derived from an "alternative" education. Part 3 (on Thursday) will take a look at the disadvantages and drawback — and yes, there definitely were some. Part 4 (on Friday) will look at how an alternative education played out and influenced a completely conventional college experience; along with a conclusion of the entire experience.

I hope some of you will find this useful, educational, informational or at least mildly entertaining! Comments, as always, are invited and encouraged, and I will do my very best to respond to questions and inquiries and requests for clarification!

Animated banner created by @zord189

(As usual, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is original content, created expressly for Steemit)
Created at 180306 15:06 PST

Sort:  

While through my experiences reading your stories so far. Whether these have been talking about yourself or anything else different simply showing us your genuine way of thinking and your eloquent narrative expresed by written means. I've usually perceived you and identified you mostly like a natural true ambivert. Appreciation in which I suspect that a large part of your assiduous readers will also agree with me. ;)

I dare to bet that this video that I am going to share next, must be one that you already know pretty well and have already seen multiple times. But I still consider it relevant to share here to add something more of value to my comment for those who have not yet seen it.

Certainly looking forward to read the next parts of these interesting and intriguing stories my friend.

Cheers!! :)

Thanks for the kind words @por500bolos; I suppose I just enjoy telling stories and putting LIFE under the microscope.

Yes, Susan Cain... I actually know her somewhat; we met at a self-development workshop many years ago when she was doing research for the book "Quiet;" we still email occasionally. It's definitely a good video for people to watch-- she knows her stuff!

I love that book. It's been a huge help to me in coming to terms with myself as an introvert.

Wow, this is a great contribution! Very revealing and it made me curious. Do you think that kids in ordinary school learned something you didn't? And vice versa – that the approach your parents had gave you something the 'normal ones' never got? I didn't fit very well into the school system (Norway) but got along with the teachers well and did fairly well. I'm not sure that would have been the case in another time or another culture, and I sympathize with kids that are forced into a school system not benefiting them...

There are certain things I did not learn well (this will be discussed in detail in part III), such as how to work well in group settings. Whether this is actually true or not, I am not certain... but my perception is that kids in regular schools had a better chance to form long-term friendships. Most of my connections were very temporary and fleeting. One of the biggest benefits I would say is "free thinking." I tend to start problem solving from a "zero" place, rather than immediately getting stuck with "rules" and "what you're SUPPOSED to do."

I'll be writing much more about this in the next three installments.

I'm looking forward to the rest of the story... we're on the first year of homeschooling our son and right now it feels, "so far, so good".

Sounds exciting! I think the key-- and where my parents perhaps "failed" me a little-- lies n being actively available to your son. I had to figure out an awful lot of stuff on my own. I suppose I could argue it was "great" because it made me a really good researcher... but I would rather have interacted with my mom more.

/ᐠ=ᆽ=ᐟ\

Frankly enjoyed reading a lot. I'm excited to read the rest of the parts. Do not be too late for us, my grandfather Haha @denmarkguy ♥♥♥

Glad you enjoyed it! More tomorrow...

A nice article, impact of education on me per say has been great. I was influenced by environment. Education should not be left behind in our upbringing.

I am interested in reading the rest parts of these article.
Pls be hasty

Thank you. The next installment will be published tomorrow.

Schooling time is the most amazing time.
At that time we hate that . bcz of a lot of work and punishment .
But i swear the best time is schooling time

Good post dear.

These school systems are benifitial for a period in life, the children after that age seem that they are being punished, well we should listen to them first what they want, as its their life not ours

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59889.02
ETH 2673.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46