Why do I care if other people understand money [Personal Finance Lesson 01]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemiteducation7 years ago

I ended University with over $25,000 in debt. Two years later, the debt was brought down to $9000. But more importantly, I had bought my first property - making more money than it costs me to live keep it. I have also ownership over a few thousand in stocks and also in crypto currencies.

But money means much more to me than some number attached to my name. Money is the source of so much pain - it is a source of addictions. It is a source of hurt. It can even a source of losing one's life...

In this video, I talk about:

  • losing $40,000 in university
  • almost losing a life
  • the excitement of having money fuel my aspirations
  • why anyone can understand money

As I have mentioned in my last post, my goal with these posts is to create a rough draft of a series of videos to help someone realise that understanding their finances can be easy and empowering.

That said, I hope that the community can provide me with feedback on the videos I create. Were there parts that you felt were super powerful? Were there parts that made you say yes? Or were there parts that bore you?

Once I have a few drafts, my goal is to then make this into a free series that people can watch and ultimately, take their first step in their financial lives.

Sort:  

Really proud and appreciative of you to share this story with all of us. Keep up the good work and looking forward to seeing more posts!

Thanks for following, @chuazm. If you ever have any suggestions on how to make any of the videos more engaging, or if you can think of another way for people to be exposed to financial literacy, please let me know :)

Appreciate your sharing. Looking forward to seeing more posts! ^^

Great story. Glad you found Steemit. Definitely a healthier way of income and I wish the best for you and your relationships as well as your success here and beyond. Just a thing tho, I was a little distracted with that mic on your nose mate. Ha ha. Just kidding.

Thank you so much, @killuminatic. I agree - now I don't even think about money, giving me so much more headspace to think about other things in life :)

Also, thank you for the suggestion - I will do my next video without a mic to see how it goes :)

Hi bro how you are you..nice to see you here

Hey @albert2018, good to see you on this as well!

good story. I think a lot of people forget the first rule. Never lose money. Most people don't think about the time/effort it took to gather the capital. Thus investing in things or business without an exit strategy.

Thank you @jameswoo
I completely agree. People like to talk about Warren Buffet, but most of them don't know his cardinal rule: never lose money. Even though that happened to me, I'm glad I learned my lesson when the capital was minimal and when no one really got hurt :)

Hey.. that was intense and I could feel the emotions from you in this video. Thank you for sharing your story. I hope u can inspire me to pick myself up too. I've recently lost quite a large sum of money too. And been pushing myself to focus again and not lose sight of my goals. But at times I sit down and got lost in the thoughts of "gosh.. how did i lose so much?"

Thank you @wackybecky. I'll be publishing a few more videos that will give anyone the foundation of really living their lives the way they want. Be sure to check it out :)

@cshaw, thank you for sharing this story, very powerful and I am glad it was the awakening call for you and you are making it as a movement now 😃
I liked the video, might be intense as you said but I believe it is good for the start.

hey man. I enjoyed this episode. will slowly catch up with the rest. keep 'em coming! I like what you're sharing :)

Thanks @calebleejl. I'm planning to consolidate everything that Malaysians will ever need to know about their finances at moremoney.my over the next few months so if you ever have any suggestions on topics please let me know!

cool! will check out your website :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60935.14
ETH 2365.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55