Sad news for the VPK classroom

I always hate it when I have to the students in the classroom sad news.

Some one stole the planter and the lettuce plant the children and been growing and enjoying eating.

24254652_1593309640749851_5343582941588142810_o.jpg

I have been enjoying teaching the children how to grow their own vegetables in the VPK classroom. Every morning I go outside to check if the children need to water the plant or not.
This morning when I went outside to check the lettuce plant the plant and planter were gone. Somebody went in the fenced in area and stole it all. I even went and checked the dumpster and it was empty. It was there Monday and now it is no where in sight. I am pretty lax about thing of mine that goes missing at the preschool. People seem to borrow stuff and forget to return it. What makes me upset is somebody stole from the children in my classroom and I find that as being pretty low.

children-593313_1920.jpgsource pixabay

When you find something the children love doing and even talk their parents into doing it at home with them it is sad when that is taken away. Now I know I paid for the planter and the soil out of my money so it was my stuff that was stolen. But when you see how excited the children get by growing the vegetables and eating what has been grown by them it becomes theirs. It became theirs from the moment I seen the smiles on their faces the moment they put the soil and seeds in the planter. I know that seems pretty silly to feel that way about a plant and planter. But that is how I honestly feel.

Know I have to decide if I am going to replace the stolen planter and the soil and get new seeds for the children to start over or not.

Do I let the 3 years of working on getting able to plant vegetables go down the drain or not?

DQmPPaqhhEzUHPBaPfv6gSK9SQ48oTqCgB9W1cdjcdX6YKW.gifby mental-extract

Sort:  

That is truly sad. I would explain to the kids that someone needed it more than we did. Sorry to hear of this news.

That's horrible! That makes me mad. I hate to hear someone stole from your kids. I wouldn't give up. Your kids learn a lot from the gardening projects and you also seem to enjoy sharing them with the kids. Maybe the next planter you can write property of you in big letters on each side. That way it might deter a thief from taking it. Get a deeper pot and weight it down with bricks before you add dirt. Or do an indoor window garden.

I will probably start over and get a deeper planterand write on it. My classroom has no windows.

This post has been deemed resteem & upvote worthy by your friendly @eastcoaststeem ran by Steemian @chelsea88

That is so sad. I'm sorry this happened.

But, even these sorts of bad things are good lessons for children. They can't be protected forever from the fact that people steal.

Your reaction is important. The children will learn how to react to bad news and sad things by mirroring your reaction.

I vote to replace the planter and start again, but keep the planter in a more secure spot (if you have one). That way the kids learn that even when bad things happen, you can keep going.

Thank you for being a teacher!!

Thank you. Iexplained what happened to the planter. And I had the children vote if we should get another planter or not. They all voted to get a new planter in a lighter color and write on it that it belongs to the VPK classroom.

I like that idea :)

Cost of planter and soil and seeds are so minimal in comparison to the kids learning...

So true. I just don't understand how people take things that is not theirs

Nothing is sacred or off limits.

People just take what they want these days. Sorry for your students. It won’t be hard to replace it or cost much, maybe you can put it inside at night? 🐓🐓

Sad that someone had to steal a planter and lettuce. I have never heard of such a low.

It's ALMOST Valentine's Day! And this Stewards Of Gondor is spreading the LOVE! Your post has been chosen to receive some this LOVE! Please accept this special surprise on behalf of @goldendawne, the Stewards Of Gondor and @fulltimegeek's delegation! Please check your wallet for a LOVE-ly tip!

That's really low and very sad. I hope you do the project again.

How happy are the children when they manage to do something he wants, but I'm sorry to hear that because the thief picked up your belongings!

Thanks, Most of the children have never grown anything before and it teachs them to do something they never did before and eat what they have grown.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62648.12
ETH 2562.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74