Doing research on Florida to teach my class the history of the state they live in.

Since I live in Florida I thought I should do some research on it. Also I want to teach the children about the state they live in.
Ponce de León founded Florida and claimed it for Spain 1n 1513. So it looks like this area has been around for awhile.He named it Pascua Florida meaning flowery easter.

florida-43781_1280.pngsource pixabay

St. Augustine Florida is the oldest city in Florida being founded in 1565. It has been permanently occupied European settlement since established by spain.Spanish minister Do Luis de Onis and U.S. Secretary of State John Quincy Adams the purchase treaty for the state of Florida from spain to the united states in 1819.

Florida joined the Confederate States of America at the beginning of the civil war. The battle of Olustee was the only major battle in florida . Deserters of both side came to Florida for refuge. The deserters attacted confederate troops and looted farms. When federal control was astabished the then govener John Miltom shot himself rather than to sumit to union contol.

Run away slaves were harbored by the Seminole indians. There were 3 Seminole wars in Florida's history

1st Seminole war was 1817-1818
2nd Seminole war was 1835-1842
3rd Seminole war was 1855-1858

It is a good start for me teaching the children the history of the state they live in.

sources https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/History_of_Florida

DQmPPaqhhEzUHPBaPfv6gSK9SQ48oTqCgB9W1cdjcdX6YKW.gifby @mental-extract

Sort:  

This post has been deemed resteem & upvote worthy by your friendly @eastcoaststeem ran by Steemian @chelsea88

I am actually new to Florida, Just came from up north. One thing I do know the weather is beautiful I had to run away from the snow.

I moved from Wisconsin so I understand about the snow.

There are so many things about Florida that make great conversation and learning. Much history, cattle ranches, sponge divers, and the Everglades. Best of luck with your kids. 🐓🐓

Thanks. We actually don't live that far from the sponge docks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85