You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: KP’s Teacher Tales #3: Be a Role Model Online and Off

in #steemiteducation7 years ago

This is such good insight @flaversham, I have a few teacher friends who've struggled with this over the years as well. I think it's really cool how you interact with your students online, being honest about who you are and showing another part of yourself that probably wouldn't be exposed to otherwise. I think it's important for teenagers, in particular, to see that you are a normal person outside of the classroom and that other people (i.e. online) appreciate and respect you for who you are and what you do. I think this is a powerful and positive message you are sending.

Sort:  

@choogirl thank you so much for your comment!
It is pretty amazing the response I’ve gotten from them. Some have told me they may start their own bookstagram account, or an account for another hobby they love. I try to tell them to chat with their parents about it, but I think social media can be a really positive place to meet like-minded people. You just have to know how!
I know this level of sharing isn’t for every teacher, but I really love it.
It’s certainly better than them being horrified to see their teacher in public and pretending you don’t exist.
Thanks again!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58054.32
ETH 2357.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42