Synthwave Production #1 - kicks & free samples

When making kicks for Synthwave you want a deep, reverberated sound, possibly with not much high-end. The best sounds come from analog synth keyboards, there's a pack floating around the internet with hundreds of samples taken from 200 keyboards, but that can be overwhelming and honestly you won't be using most of them anyways.

I prepared a pack with 2 of the best kicks i use all the time, download them here:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1sXgROvkB-fgmY9LtbpJGpmxNTdIBPEr3

Now you should layer them and have something like this

Why layer them? Because i like the-low end of one and the high-end of the other and the mix gives me a fat powerful kick

As you can see i placed them on the same channel, and that's because i have a Parametric EQ to make it sound even better.

That's pretty much it, now your kicks will sound good and sit well in the mix.
The next tutorial will be on snares, follow me here @chillyviking
If you have any questions post them in the comments

Sort:  

thanks for this post, this was very useful for me to get more possibilities on my producing journey ! don't hesitate to look at my page as well, I tend to post a lot about this topic, my style is quite different though, progressive house, but we must keep on filling this FLtopic on Steemit ! ;D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64856.09
ETH 3426.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56