You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Formal education: A tyranny of numbers: why I’m quitting teaching part 2/11

The teaching to the test thing has been going on a long time. I remember teachers, teaching to the test when I was in high school 20 years ago.

Also the bureaucratic non-sense you are subjected to isn't just a education issue. I am in construction and we are subjected to a ridiculous amount of safety regulation. So much so that if we followed everything we would't be getting anything done.

I'm all for work place safety but it isn't just the safety practices, it's the paperwork that goes along with it. You have to document all the steps you are taking to be safe in case something should happen, or an inspector shows up, you have a paper trail to show you are safe.

I spend a good portion of my day, up to an hour, just filling out the damn safety paperwork so we can avoid fines and work stoppages. Even with all this, if an inspector is having a bad day I guarantee there would still be something they could fine us for. It leads to a lot of unnecessary stress.

Sort:  

Yes - it has been going on for a long time. And don't even get me started on the safety culture thing! Ridiculous..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57530.32
ETH 2439.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37