You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Whats in a REP? @curie raises some unexplored questions.

I’ll admit, I may be wrong on some points, but I think there are a couple areas where rep is actually a bit simpler than what you describe.

I believe Rep is entirely a handy scoring mechanism that is flawed by some of the things you mention (bid bots, self votes, flag wars.) It’s basically a running tally of the entire account history of upvotes vs. downvotes at a glance. That doesn’t mean that someone with negative Rep never earned any rewards, as flags on a post can continue to drive Rep down even after the payout value has been reduced to 0.00. So if someone earns $10 on post #1 and then gets $20 worth of flags on post #2, they will have gained money ($10) but lost Rep (twice as many downvotes as upvotes) over the course of the two posts. Rep of course in no way reflects account value due to this, as well as transfers in & out, etc. (as you note with Bernie’s Rep vs. value)

However I don’t believe Rep ever factors into reward calculations for curation, and I believe the idea that only people of higher Rep can hurt your Rep is a myth that has perpetuated. Bernie Sanders is a great example, at -17 Rep he is still adept at destroying the reps of a great many users. As with most things on the platform, Steem Power is the main factor, commingled with Voting Power %.

On several occasions I’ve heard of Rep being referred to as “non-consensus”, presumably alluding to the fact that it actually is not inherent or key to any blockchain calculations.

I also believe the increasing difficulty of Rep levels does not occur every level, it is every 10 levels. So getting from 50-51, 51-52, etc. is as hard as getting from 40-50. Getting from 60-61 is as difficult as all of the 50’s and so on. I know that for me personally, hitting 60 was like a brick wall and progress slowed to a crawl!

Sort:  

The white paper is huge for Steem as it should be and unfortunately not my forte to read these types of things, to make it worse there conflicting articles so it's hard to decipher the truth through the misconceptions.

I believe the idea that only people of higher Rep can hurt your Rep is a myth that has perpetuated. Bernie Sanders is a great example, at -17 Rep he is still adept at destroying the reps of a great many users.

This scares me a little, I like to think there is some protection from this type of bullying, not Bernie specifically but in general from disgruntled Steemians.

I don’t believe Rep ever factors into reward calculations for curation.

So you believe its just a calculation of the SP and Current VP? I can see how that would make sense. Thanks for stopping by, more research may be required but another day. :)

Thank you for dropping by :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58589.32
ETH 2636.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45