Teaching in the new millennium: Oh, how the times have changed!!

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

A week ago I came across this meme that immediately spoke volumes to who I am and what I do each and every day of my life. I work in a profession that is by its nature a giving and caring job. If you are incapable of caring then you will not make a good teacher at all. You might survive the profession because you are organized and great at creating lessons and getting through the curriculum but at the end of the day if you don’t truly care about what you are doing then you will be destined to live an unsatisfied work life. Teachers choose to teach for a variety of reasons but at the root of this choice to teach needs to be a passion for learning and a desire to see youth be successful. The teaching profession has changed vastly over the past few generations and I foresee this change continuing. There has been a paradigm shift in the philosophy of who is responsible for a child’s education and this shift is coming with some pretty strong attitudes.

Related image
Source

Take a moment to think back to your childhood and your experiences at school. The experience you had could be tremendously different from the experience of the person next to you. Depending on your age, your view of what school was like will potentially differ. I have had the opportunity to talk to family and friends from different generations and the stories I hear always leave me with that WOW feeling. First of all, I can’t believe some of the things they tell me were even allowed to happen and secondly, I am shocked at how far the pendulum has swung the other way and how fast. My father tells me stories of how students would get the paddle when he was in school. Can you imagine?

Image result for teacher paddle!
Source

These changes are both in terms of how education is administered and how students learn as well as how teachers are respected and able interact with students and families. Not only has the way things are happening in the schools and classrooms changing, the attitudes towards the teaching profession are shifting in a huge way and not in a positive way.

There was a day when parents and teachers were on the same page when it came to the education of children but those days are starting to disappear. I was having a conversation with some colleagues the other day. We are all around the same age, I am 42, and we would have gone through elementary and middle school in the 1980’s. (Ahhhh, the good years) The conversation turned to how we interacted and felt about teachers. There was a group consensus that we all respected and in some ways even feared our teachers. It wasn’t that the teachers were scary in any way though. Rather, it was that we feared the wrath of our parents if our teacher ever had to phone home or send a note. I remember once I was so worried about a note going home that I actually ripped it up and threw it away. Such a dumb move. I totally got caught. Really, what was I thinking? Of course, the teacher was going to follow up. My point is, I knew that if my parents found out I wasn’t working hard or if I misbehaved that I was going to be in trouble. This is no longer the case.

Related image
Source

My experience as a teacher has been far from my memories as a child. There are parents these days who are very supportive and hold their children accountable for all aspects of school life but more and more the image from the meme above is the reality. I could tell you countless numbers of stories about parents who contact teachers to complain about marks. “How is that my child is only getting C’s? He is an A student!” or “The questions on the test were not fair.” I had a colleague who was told by a parent just last week that their child was not putting in the effort because the work was boring. So the actions of the child are the teacher's fault? I can’t imagine my parents ever saying that to a teacher. They would have a ton of choice words for me about my marks but never would they imply that the teacher isn't doing his or her job. I was the one being held accountable for my actions or lack of actions and I would suffer the consequences.

Related image
Source

I had a parent just last year who I was in contact with because their son was not working as hard as he needed to be and his grades were suffering. I was hoping to get some support from home so he could be getting a consistent message. Instead, this parent contacted the principal and the school superintendent to complain that I wasn’t making an effort to help her child. I was so blown away by this. Admin totally supported me and the complaint was deemed to be unwarranted but it really made me question what I was doing all this for. A phone call to try to help a student turned into a complete nightmare. Unfortunately, this is not an uncommon theme in the world of education these days. I know that our principal is constantly putting out these types of fires and dealing with absurd complaints and demands from parents all the time. When did our kids become so entitled? Why is it that they feel that they don’t have to put in the effort and why is it that there is no fear of consequences for behaviour? Why do parents think that this is ok?

Entitlement:

the belief that one is inherently deserving of privileges or special treatment.
Source

In recent years, many parents and non-parents alike would agree there has been a rise in children with entitled attitudes. Most of us know at least one kid who fits the bill. These are the kids who won’t lift a finger to help, who seem to think the world revolves around them, who are frequently heard saying “I want it now,” and who rarely show gratitude or empathy. And while it might be nice to be able to place the blame elsewhere, this rise in entitlement may be due in large part to parenting choices.
Source

The scary part is that it is getting worse every year. Not only are children not having to be accountable for their academics, they are also not being held to a high standard of behaviour and respect. Parents are doing everything in their power to make sure that their child gets everything they want and doesn’t have to be reprimanded for anything. I used to be the director of a sports camp in the summers and I once had a kid throw an absolute fit because he didn’t pass the swim test conducted by the pool lifeguards. Later in the day I spoke with the father about the situation and low and behold, the father was very upset with me. How could I not allow the child to pass the swim test? Did I not have any idea the impact that this was going to have on this poor child's self-esteem? This parent was so angry. All I could say was that I supported the lifeguard's decision, it was not a matter of self-esteem but rather making sure that your kid was SAFE in the pool. I’m pretty sure the kid didn’t have any emotional scars from the experience.

Image result for entitled students
Source

I made a decision last year that even though the educational landscape may be changing, I am going to continue to do everything in my power to teach my students the values of hard work, accountability and respect. It would be very easy to hide in the corner and go through the motions and avoid any parent conflict but that’s not who I am as a person or as a teacher. I have a colleague who once said it was not our job as a teacher to teach kids manners and respect. I couldn’t disagree more! In many cases, if we aren’t teaching it then who is? I know for many teachers it is not always easy to deal with these situations. My only advice is to be true to who you are and know that you are doing what is best for those students.

Related image
Source

Thanks for stopping by. I would love to hear your stories about dealing with entitlement in your classrooms today. Do you deal with this in your classroom or daily life? What were your experiences as a student?

Sort:  

I was going to reminisce about corporal punishment, but you really hit a sore spot with the 'entitled child'. I have one nephew that absolutely fits that category, and I know who is to blame. My brother. When he died a year ago my other brother and I tried to help our nephew out. To say the very least it did not end well. [sigh]

Thanks for a truly great article. But much more than that, thanks for your commitment to our young people. I'm guessing you'd be one I'd have taken a bullet for.

There is such a fine line when it comes to protecting our kids. Yes, we always want to be there for them and guide them but at the same time, we can't protect them at the cost of teaching them responsibility and accountability. Thanks for the heartfelt comment and sharing such a personal moment.

It's just not students and parents that seem to have the "Entitlement" attitude, It's our whole society. Having been in the education trenches since the '80 and have seen society devalue education to the lowest point I've ever seen. Conservatives are actively sabotaging the education system. Just look how Betsy DeVos is dismantling education back to the dark ages. No wonder that uneducated parents feel empowered to blame teachers for their kids bad performance. Reminds me of the Trump administration.

Thanks for the post as education needs to be made a priority again

It is certainly alarming to see the direction things are taking. At the end of the day, it should never be about blame but rather about working together to help students grow and productive and respectful members of society

You have had some great comments on my posts and it seems you have lots of experience with education. I also notice that you are using the @steemiteducation tag. You should consider joining our discord and meet lots of other like-minded people. A great community where we support each others growth. https://discord.gg/wWqNKu

Man, everything bad I've done in school it was only my fault and I would hear about it from my parents. It never happened that my parents went to school to investigate is this or that teacher a good teacher. There was some trust between parents and teachers, where they both believed in good growth of the child.

Nowadays, I hear about all kinds of incidents in schools and it's really mind blowing to realize that this even exists today!

Great written articele my friend, thanks for sharing your experiences with us!

I'm so glad to hear that your parents held you accountable for your actions. You will be better for it as an adult. There are some parents out there that are doing things the right way for sure.

As an educator myself who have been teaching the weakest group for the level almost every year, academic performance is not everything. I agree that a teacher should not just teach knowledge but their manner and respect are important too. Regardless of their academic results, all of us who genuine have the hear for teaching would want to instill the love and joy of learning. Developing a pupil to be a lifelong learner even if he/she leaves our class and proceed to become an adult in future would have a lasting effort. We would have helped them with good survivial skills of constantly learning as well as not giving up even during challenges. Teaching a child how to fish rather than constantly giving a fish would help the child a lot more. Times have changed where the most educated ones may not always be the most successful ones.

Great comment and so true. So many of our kids are just given the fish and when it comes time to fend for themselves they are going to struggle. Teaching kids to be learners as adults will give them the tools to succeed.

Hi...thanks for a very insightful article. I am a retired teacher but am currently helping out in a remedial school. I cannot agree with you more - I have noticed the change in attitude over the last few years. I recently had a letter from an angry parent asking me questions about why I did not do this and did not do that. Her child is a dyslexic child and I do realise he needs extra attention. I have a class of 12 remedial pupils and each one deserves special attention. But the choices I make are always connected to what I believe is best for the learner! Here is a parent who has never witnessed anything in my class, questioning my ability but not asking even once if perhaps her child is the one who is at "fault..."? He is a spoilt brat, threatens to run to mum every 2 minutes and when he is unhappy about anything, puts his head on his hands and rests. In other words, he pays very little attention, throws his toys out of his cot, disrupts the learning processes of the other kids, plus a few others....and I do my best to accommodate him. But mum sees only the bad! By the way, it is the same in every other subject! The problem is not that he has a problem but rather that the parent is not working WITH the teachers to manage the problem, but working AGAINST them.... This is also a form of entitlement by a parent who really is doing more harm than good. Anyway, enjoyed your article....

You just described what so many teachers are going through every day. There are so many parents that feel like they were done wrong by as a kid and they are going to make sure their kids get everything. The only problem is that we are raising a society of entitled adults. What will the world look like n 25 years if this continues?

So true! Hope something comes along to change the scenario completely!

broncofan
i wil give you 0.060 to 0.080 SBD worth upvote and 30 plus upvote on your post instant in just 0.050 Sand at @farhannaqvi7

Hello dear @broncofan99, we are all impressed with how the times have changed, we remember those moments when something very technological was presented to us for those times. My mother always talked about the first time she saw television, even my grandmother was amazed when she found out what a computer was. For me they are ordinary objects, because I am from this time, but probably the same thing will happen to us and our children will teach us things that go beyond the limits of our imagination. May God bless you and fill you with abundance.

Regards....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62753.87
ETH 2445.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67