Dangers of Getting Your Nails Done That You Probably Didn't Know About!

                                                      

For those of us who love getting their nails done, whether it may be because we simply need a break or just because we really love getting our nails done and having them look pretty with some designs and some colour. One thing we don't do is wonder to ourselves if this gorgeous and relaxing habit is really healthy for our nails and our health. I mean, who doesn't want beautiful looking nails???

Now I love nail polish, heck, love would be an understatement! I am absolutely obsessed with nail polish, I have a whole bag filled with nail polish and whenever I get the chance to buy some I always do. I may not always put nail polish on my finger nails but I usually make it a priority to have my toe nails looking absolutely gorgeous!

But have you ever thought to yourself if you should really be using nail polish as much as you do? As soon as you open that nail polish bottle, you're hit with an extremely strong odour! Those fumes can be very harmful to your health.

When you go to the nail salon to get some acrylic nails done, do you ever sit there and wonder if anything or everything the nail technician is applying on your nail is safe? 

It is said that the chemicals put into nail polish can be very detrimental to your health and cause damage to your nervous system and upset your hormones, while also causing cancer. The chemicals used to apply acrylic nails, toluene, dibutyl phthalate and formaldehyde, were found to cause cancer. 

Now this doesn't mean that if you get acrylic nails you will immediately get cancer, this just means that if you are getting acrylic nails done regularly, you may end up with it. Doing acrylic nails can also cause nail loss. Not only can you get nail loss from getting acrylic nails done, you can also experience splitting and painful nail plates(which I've experienced myself), itchy cuticles, weakened natural nails, inflamed cuticles.

 

Plus, a lot of salons lack adequate ventilation for the strong odour that ends up filling the room while getting your manicure done. Lack of ventilation may cause people develop a condition called painter syndrome which will cause you to experience memory loss, walking and speech problems. 

So think about this next time you think of getting your nails done and try your very best to avoid frequent use of nail polish and getting your nails done at the nail salon. 


Image sources:

source 1

source 2

source 3

source 4 




Sort:  

Thank you for raising awareness to the toxins.

I've learnt the hard way. My nails are very weak now. Im working on repairing them coz they tear like a piece of paper. No jokes💔 Im just as obsessed with nails. But I think I'll be on nail polish for a while.

Have you tried using diatomaceous earth? It helped me repair my nails and they're getting stronger and stronger.

Thanks I'll definitely check it out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63526.15
ETH 3387.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56