You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Art of Critical Thinking part 1

So, I have heard many reference the bible and the story of Adam and Eve to explain why women should not be given such power of knowledge. While I am not Christian today, I do come from a woman who is Christian, but who is also half pagan and always encouraged knowledge as a great defense against oppression.

Recently, I listened to part of a video by Dr. Jordan B Peterson, where he explains how the story of Adam and Eve is about awakening, illumination and acquire knowledge. He says that such knowledge can be dangerous because it's not fun to be awake and understand things on such a deep level that sets you apart from those who have not gained that knowledge yet. But, he also says that it's how you use that knowledge, what you do with it, that determined the morality in your soul.

It is not that women are dangerous with knowledge, it is representative that knowledge can be dangerous, but with that power comes responsibility. Knowledge leads to critical thinking and thus to awakening and illumination.

In other words, in the terms that are commonly used online these days, Adam and Eve got woke, yo.

I give this as an example because I used to not enjoy hearing about those stories, having chosen a different path, because everyone who tells it on the most part, just read it and takes it literally and does not dissect it in a critical thinking sort of way. Jordan Peterson take these stories to a whole new level, he analyses them, thinks critically. He's a devout Christian, and yet he challenges these stories and everything most people believe about them in a way that makes me appreciate the religion more than I could have otherwise. This does not convert me to Christianity, but it allows ME to think critically and to compare that religion and those stories with my spiritual beliefs and stories about the Celtic people and the De Dannan and all those ancient tribes .

His critical thinking allowed me to understand a religion I used to frown upon due to other people's lack of critical thinking. My mother was the only Christian I knew for a long time who thought outside the Christian box, probably because of our Celtic roots. And I went through a phase where I didn't want to have ANYTHING to do with anything Christian AT ALL.

Today, I'm okay with all our celebrations being mixed in our family and be the cultural traditions they've always been. My mother and I have different religious paths, but I am able to appreciate hers in a new light.

And once again, I write an elaborate comment hehe

Sort:  

Interesting point.

Ignorance is bliss.

Once you understand and see things others cannot, you are "cast out"- both by your own doing as its difficult to find likeminds to converse with or you lack the patience for those who have not awakened, and you are ostracised by others.

In many ancient cultures, women were equal or even worshipped. As the ultimate creators of life- yes the men play half the part during conception, but after that his part is to provide so that she may take the lead role in the nurturing, health and rearing of the children-their importance was honored and respected.

Somehow, somewhere, some guy decided woman was dangerous. Woman had too much power. And he bad to knock her down a couple notches.

Where would society be had this never happened? How would the world look right now?

Perhaps the opposite from what is happening now and maybe men would be the oppressed gender and women would have become overzealous and have been too overbearing with their power.

Or maybe, women would be revered, men would be revered, as both would understand the divine within each and we would have a much better connection to nature.

I'd opt for the second options :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53375.38
ETH 2393.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15